can't mount my external HDD? help!

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by xenon supra, May 20, 2007.

  1. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    i was messing around with the permissions of my external HDD, like trying to set certain users who could access it and some who couldn't.

    i must have accidently blocked all users, and after i restarted my mac, I can see the external drive in disk util, but it says that it is already mounted.

    i need a way to control the access permissions for the partition "BIG MAN"

    i rly can't afford to reformat it, i need the data.

    thanks :wavey:

    [​IMG]
     
  2. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    hdd info:
    [​IMG]

    partition info:

    [​IMG]
     
  3. doublemeat

    doublemeat New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Messages:
    14,524
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inside Loop 410
    Do you have TinkerTool? You can click 'Show hidden files'.

    Or you can do the Terminal trick to do the same thing. I don't know what it is though...... because I have TinkerTool. :mamoru:

    But that would be a start. If you can't see it then.....oooooo..... I dunno mang.
     
  4. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    already tried it, thanks :hs:
     
  5. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    yeah, the problem is there is no drive on the desktop, so when i hit ctrl + I that is what comes up, if i can get to the screen you are talking about i will be able to get it back to normal.

    i assigned permissions by using that method
     
  6. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
  7. doublemeat

    doublemeat New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Messages:
    14,524
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inside Loop 410
    No luck?
     
  8. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I ended up installing MacDrive on my PC, and plugging it in to it. From there I copied the data to another external HD and then plugged that one back into my mac.

    Then i just reformatted the one i was having trouble with.

    :bigok:
     

Share This Page