Can't log into my Router on my Mac Mini

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by cmsurfer, Dec 6, 2007.

  1. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Weird problem...

    When using either Firefox or Safari, I cannot log into my router. It keeps saying login error like I am typing in the wrong password.

    Works fine on all the Windows machines on my network.

    I even changed the password on the router and I still can't login on the Mac.

    WTF???
     
  2. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    u sure your connecting to the same address on both the mac and pc? dumb question i know, but double check...

    also, are you sure the router supports macs? ive never heard of one that doesnt, but if it doesnt like the mac browsers that may just be the router.

    what router is it?
     
  3. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    wifi is a standard... it supports anything.

    try this see if it helped..
    go to your network in system preferences
    choose airport
    go to advanced
    go to tcp/ip tab
    and try the "renew dhcp" button

    see if that helps
     
  4. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    It's a Blekin router.

    Yes, I'm sure it's the right address.

    I'm on a wired connection, and I power-cycled the router this morning.

    So, it must be something with the Mac browser.
     
  5. nsxrebel

    nsxrebel New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,272
    Likes Received:
    0
    What model Belkin? I have a Belkin F5D7230-4, and I have no problems logging into the router.
     
  6. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    I'm not sure off hand, but it's definitely something on the Mac causing the problem becase the 3 Windows machines in my house never had a problem with it...

    No big deal...
     
  7. mercster

    mercster Holla back, nerds.

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    Security setting on the mac/mac browser?
     
  8. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    well if you can surf the web with you mac mini, that means you're communicating with the router. so that rules out incompatibility.

    so somewhere you changed a setting or something and it's giving you an error.
    try using Safari. but first reset Safari (it's in the Safari drop down menu)
     
  9. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    I reset Safari and tried again with no luck...

    I mainly use firefox and haven't messed with any settings...

    Everything else works fine... I even typed the password in text edit and copied and pasted it into the browser without any luck either.

    I think I'll download Opera for the hell of it and see what happens.
     
  10. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Ok, did some more testing...

    I installed Opera and WAS able to login to the router.

    I went back to Firefox again and couldn't, but I decided to try to login to my NAS and print server and both were fine.

    So.... Something with Firefox and Safari doesn't like the router login page....

    nsxrebel - The router is a Belkin F5D7231
     
  11. LOLZILLA

    LOLZILLA New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    97,923
    Likes Received:
    0
    This has absolutely nothing to do with whether you are using a mac or windows or linux machine.
     
  12. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    the only thing I can think of is maybe pop-up blockers, or some sort of preference that prevents this. I've been able to log into every router i've ever owned on my mac (i've owned 3 for the record)
     
  13. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    :werd:

    like i said before, wifi is a standard, it doesn't care what you use.
    it's some setting thats fucked up on his system
     
  14. nsxrebel

    nsxrebel New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yup, it has to be some fucked up setting on his system.
     
  15. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Well I can't imagine what settting could be screwed up on Safari and Firefox. It was a fresh install of OSX and Firefox.

    It has to be something with the field that I type the password into. I can get to the router page itself, but it just wouldn't take the password.

    Either way I got around it by using Opera.
     
  16. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    if you are talking about the web configuration tool my guess is it is doing some funny browser hack and was never tested on a mac. try firefox
     
  17. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Did you read the thread?

    I'm trying to login to my router from my Mac and it wont take the password on Firefox or Safari. It worked on Opera though.
     
  18. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area

    have you considered detective work? cause your powers of observation are astounding :eek3:
     
  19. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    oh shit, my cover is blown. only one option now :sadwavey:
     

Share This Page