Can't Install Tiger :o

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by clog, Jun 30, 2005.

  1. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
    Well, I decided to upgtade and get 10.4. I just came back from the local apple store, and now I am having some problems :hsd: I tried booting from the DVD, holding the C key, but it spits the CD right out.. :wtf: I tried to start the installation while in 10.3, then it says that it is restarting and instead of booting from the CD, it just spits it out :ugh:

    I tried another DVD drive, so that's not the problem... I'm on an older G4 (dual 500mhz w/ gigabit ethernet) :dunno: help?
     
  2. Laserbeak

    Laserbeak Remember kids! Be like Billy! BEHAVE YOURSELVES!

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    22,910
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    WA
    Have you tried resetting the PRAM, or fired off the installer while in 10.3?
     
  3. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
    tell me more about resetting the pram, I am not familiar with htat. As fat as firing off the installer from 10.3, yes. The splash screen comes up, but you have to restart, then it is suppposed to boot from teh DVD, but in my case, it just spits it :mad:
     
  4. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
    and I don't have an apple keyboard, so how hte shit can I reset the PRAM :o
     
  5. Snotfist

    Snotfist I am the Urban Cowboy.

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MinnesOTa
    if you opened it up in 10.3 you double click and then it says you need to restart. You don't need to hold on to C when it does restart.

    Make sure you aren't hanging onto the mouse button when you restart, that will make you force eject.
     
  6. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia

    You are right, it should just restart and boot from CD without pressing C, but it doesn't, it just ejects the DVD. I am not touching the mouse either. Any more ideas? :dunno:

    And I just ran Tech Tool Deluxe and all came out OK, I also repaired/verified the HD and that was fine. I verified the CD, and that came out OK. :mad:
     
  7. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
  8. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    command-option-P-R will zap the PRAM for you. restart, then hold down theose keys until it restarts again seven more times (listen for seven start-up sounds after the initial restart).
     
  9. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
    and what do the command and option keys mapt to on a Windows keyboard? :o
     
  10. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    hmmm...

    ALT-Start (the windows logo key)?
     
  11. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia

    OK I was able to reset the pram, but still no go on booting from the CD.

    :wtf: is this shit about? :ugh: could this be a bad fuckign disc?
     
  12. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    it's possible. go exchange it and see. or take it and try it on a system at the store.
     
  13. TurboDerek

    TurboDerek My favorite meal is horsemeat and rice.

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2001
    Messages:
    1,465
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Bernardino
    try booting holding down the option(alt) key. this will give you access to the boot manager. choose the drive you want to boot from. if this does not work take both the dvd and computer to the apple store to make sure you have a good dvd.
     
  14. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
    ok, those of you htat said that I might be holding down the mouse were right... however, I was not holding it down. I guess there might have been a bug with my MX1000 mouse during hte installation? I unplugged that bitch from the back to do the install :dunno: wierd as shit... thanks for the help though :o
     
  15. Snotfist

    Snotfist I am the Urban Cowboy.

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MinnesOTa
    YES I WAS right for once!!!!

    :wiggle:
     
  16. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
    :bigthumb: but :wtf: why would it do that :dunno:
     
  17. Snotfist

    Snotfist I am the Urban Cowboy.

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MinnesOTa
    I don't know, I only use Apple mouses. Sorry. :bigthumb:
     
  18. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    To throw a wrench in the works, I've installed Tiger twice with that mouse, no issues at all. Who knows. Tiger seems a bit more picky than Panther.
     
  19. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
    now it's giving me shit about recognizing the keyboard :mad:
     
  20. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
  21. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    Yup. Take the install disk out after it is installed or it will do that every time it boots!
     
  22. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia

    shit are you serious?! fawk :mad:
     
  23. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia

    It hasn't been doing it :dunno: :hsd:
     
  24. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    Dunno. Mine did it every time after I rebooted until I removed the DVD. Annoying as hell.
     
  25. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
    seven is overkill :o
     

Share This Page