can't get to post with new motherboard

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by mace, Dec 30, 2004.

  1. mace

    mace i don't read

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    12,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    I just got a new motherboard and processor
    MSI neo 2 w/ amd athlon 64 3200+

    I put it all together, but it's not posting. I have tried everything.

    For some reason when I flip the power switch on the back the fans start and everything, except I didn't hit the power switch. Ok. I hit the power switch and the system shuts down. Now when I hit the power switch nothing happens. I unplug it and wait awhile and it does the same thing.


    I am so mad right now :mad:
     
  2. MacAlert

    MacAlert Maxima driver OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you plug in all the jumpers for the front panel? Did you connect the 4 or 5pin power plug?
     
  3. mace

    mace i don't read

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    12,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    I connected both power plugs. I have tried everything i can think of, even going to the bare essentials. Video card, Ram, Power. All I'm getting is the exact same thing.

    As soon as I switch the power on the fans start up and the motherboard clearly has power, but no boot up.
     
  4. mace

    mace i don't read

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    12,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    I don't get any beeps either.
     
  5. MacAlert

    MacAlert Maxima driver OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you check the CMOS jumper? Is that set to clear or read BIOS (I don't know what thats called). Try running one stick of RAM if you have two. That's all I can think of right now, 4:47AM *yawn*. Good luck and good night.
     
  6. mace

    mace i don't read

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    12,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    I did check it, everything seems normal. I haved tried one stick of ram and swapped that out.

    The only thing I can think of is that the processor is bad or the motherboard is bad. :wtc: this is a new system too
     
  7. mace

    mace i don't read

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    12,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    fixed it, thank god!!

    clearing the cmos using the jumper is what finally fixed it. :big grin:
     
  8. MacAlert

    MacAlert Maxima driver OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Enjoy the new computer!!
     
  9. mace

    mace i don't read

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    12,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    yeah, it's a lot faster than my old one.
     

Share This Page