Can't get to certain websites on a machine in my network

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by cmsurfer, Jul 20, 2005.

  1. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Weird problem...

    Within the last week or two, this machine has been having trouble getting to certain websites.

    For example, the machine has no problem getting to google, Microsoft, and a couple bulletin board sites. It cannot get to sites like usps.com, netflix.com, or here at OT.

    When I try to ping the sites it can't get to it says destination host unreachable. Other machines in the network are fine leading me to believe that it is something wrong with the machine. I chekced everything I could think of and found nothing wrong. The machine seems to be free of Spyware.

    It's running Windows XP SP2...

    Any ideas before I decide to format?

    Why would I be able to get to and ping certain sites, but others come back as destination unreachable?
     
  2. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    did your isp just make a dns change? What happens if you tracert the site you're looking for then connect to it via IP? is there anything out of place in the HOSTS file?
    How about USPS http://56.0.134.24/ or Netflix http://216.35.131.200/
     
  3. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    I don't believe my ISP has made a DNS change, but the 3 other machines on the same network don't have any issues.

    If try a tracert to a site it quits after the first hop and says destination unreachable.

    I cannot connect via IP.

    The only thing in the hosts file is the local host entry

    127.0.0.1 localhost
    127.0.0.1 localhost

    Any other ideas?
     
  4. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Destination unreachable points to a problem where it cant figure out how to route the request (invalid subnet mask, gateway...). But why just some sites would afffect it, I'm not sure. Have your tried changing the IP to something that is still valid to your network and making it static?
     
  5. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    I'm on DHCP now, but when I get home I'll try making a static one...

    Thanks,
     
  6. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Anyone have any other ideas?

    I changed my local IP, but that didn't help...
     
  7. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
  8. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    did you trying performing a traceroute? If it stops somewhere in your ISP's network, i would call them. Weird that you mention this problem, because i'm having the same thing at home right now, and when i tracert to offtopic or any of the sites i can't get to, it stops in COX's network somewhere, so i know it's their problem
     
  9. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    [​IMG]
     
  10. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    ipconfig /flushdns
     
  11. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
  12. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    /flushdns didn't do anything. I'll give the article a read and let you know.

    Thanks,
     
  13. firecracker

    firecracker New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    10,230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    You still having this problem?

    Are you running peer gaurdian? I was having a similar problem and that is what was causing it
     
  14. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Ha ha... Funny thing...

    I was moving parts over to a new PC the other day and a couple hours after I had Windows installed, it happened again.

    I know I have tried closing peer guardian before and it didn't work, but when I disabled it, the problem was fixed.

    It's uninstalled now so all is good.
     
  15. firecracker

    firecracker New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    10,230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    :cool: Glad you got it fixed. I was searching for something last night and stumbled across your post and thought that I would take a stab at it as it was very frustrating when it happened to me.
     

Share This Page