can't format 2nd hard drive

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Swerve, Dec 31, 2005.

  1. Swerve

    Swerve OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    3,179
    Likes Received:
    3
    hi,

    I recently purchased a second hard drive (Slave) and am trying to format it. My Master drive is NTFS and the second slave is currently FAT32. The problem I'm having is that when I try to format it, it only get to 20% and then stops.

    How can i format it? I want to sell it but untill I can format it, it won;t get a decent price I'm sure.

    Thanks for any help!!:)
     
  2. rsxm5

    rsxm5 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,961
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    It's possible that the drive is bad. I would determine what manufacturer made the drive, then go to their website to see if they have a tool that you can use to test that drive (most manufacturer's have some sort of diagnostic utility that will test your drive).
     
  3. Swerve

    Swerve OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    3,179
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks but it seems fine.

    Does anyone have any advice on suitable tools or ideas?

    Thanks
     
  4. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Who makes the drive?

    Most manufacturers give you/let you download software to setup the drive in your PC. Seagate Tools, Max Blaster, etc...

    You can try one of those...

    I see no reason why it would just stop, so I would agree with rsxm5 and run some tests on the drive. It would suck for you to not do that and then end up losing data down the road. It may seem fine, but it may not be...
     
  5. Swerve

    Swerve OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    3,179
    Likes Received:
    3
    hOW DO I GET THE fdISK COMMAND TO WORK ON xp?
     
  6. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Boot off a boot disc?
     
  7. Sabrewulf

    Sabrewulf New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hammond, LA
    It seems highly likely that it would be the drive. I'd agree with cmsurfer and go to the manufacturer's website and get the tools from them and see if that helps. If all else, try the HD in another machine. :dunno:
     

Share This Page