Can't figure out what's wrong!!!

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Repentinus, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. Repentinus

    Repentinus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lawton, OK
    ***All links lead either to the products page or the newegg page of said product.

    I've had serious issues with my computer but have no idea what's causing it. My original setup consisted of the following:

    XFX 680i LGA 775 MB http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813141003

    Intel Core 2 Duo E6550 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115030

    2 Gig sticks of Corsair Memory 1066 PC8500http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820145043

    EVGA GeForce 8800 GTS 320MB Video Card http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814130038

    WD Caviar 80GB HD http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822144102

    ASUS Optical Drive http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16827135156

    BFG 650W Power Supply http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817702003

    After putting this rig together it lasted about 4 or 5 months before I started getting crashes and video glitches whenever I played a video game or tried watching video. I assumed it was my video card. Actually I ended up assuming a lot. The only I actually had go bad that I knew was the RAM. To make a long story short I RMA'ed a whole buncha crap. My video card, MB, and RAM. I replaced the HD with a confirmed good one. I tested the PSU with this:

    Rexus Digital Power Supply Tester http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16899705003

    Everything came up green. The only thing I didn't replace/test was the CPU. Well after RMA'ing everything getting it all back I assembled it and everything was working fine for about three months. All RMA's resulted me in getting the same product back except for the motherboard which actually got upgraded to:

    XFX 780i SLI MB http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813141005&Tpk=XFX%2b780I

    And now I'm getting the same issues. I can surf the web all day, check my email, etc. But the moment I try to play WoW, Simcity 4, Doom 3, or Supreme Commander my computer crashes. I just ran Memtest and it came up with a error. So now I'm assuming my RAM is going bad again. The only thing I can think of is that maybe my PSU tests good but under load it gives the RAM too much juice and starts to fry it. Is that even possible?! I'm kinda shooting in the dark.

    Last symptom I get is after a crash, I do a restart and the computer boots in BIOS safe mode.

    Yes, I have reinstalled drivers.....multiple times. (Even used Driver Cleaner Pro in Safe Mode.)
    Yes, I tried with a fresh copy of windows.
    Yes, I have flashed the BIOS.
    No, this isn't my first computer I've built. Built my wife's and its working fine. She can play WoW all day.......grrrr.
    BTW, using Windows XP SP3.
     
  2. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, what's still the same? Case, CPU, power supply? The CPU could be overheating, the case could be shorting out the motherboard (this is why you should always line the case with noise-absorbent -- and insulating -- foam), the power supply could be hiccupping.
     
  3. Repentinus

    Repentinus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lawton, OK
    The case, CPU, power supply are the same.
     
  4. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try running the machine, sans case, on a clean workbench. See if it still chokes.
     
  5. White Stormy

    White Stormy Take that, subspace!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    85,489
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Sparkopolis
    sounds like a hardware problem to me.. either ram or overheating somewhere.

    power it up and check all the fans? did you connect the cpu fan to the cpu or did it come with one attached? thermal paste? does the vid card need external power for a fan? make sure it's attached? is airflow in the case good? what is your cpu temp?
     
  6. Repentinus

    Repentinus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lawton, OK
    Airflow is good. Case has 6 120mm fans in it they all work. CPU Fan is installed and working. Video card's fan is working fine. So is the PSU's fan. North Bridge Chip also has a fan installed on it that is working fine.
     

Share This Page