can't connect to httpS sites

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by 1fastz28, Aug 16, 2005.

  1. 1fastz28

    1fastz28 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    59,532
    Likes Received:
    89
    Location:
    listening to vinyl, st.louis
    what can cause this?
     
  2. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Do you get an error? What does it say?

    What browser and version? If it's IE, what does it say for your encryption level?
     
  3. 1fastz28

    1fastz28 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    59,532
    Likes Received:
    89
    Location:
    listening to vinyl, st.louis
    all 3 of my browsers, just sais connection refused :confused:
     
  4. Javi

    Javi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    37,785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Check your firewall to see if port 443 is blocked (default HTTPS port number)
     
  5. 1fastz28

    1fastz28 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    59,532
    Likes Received:
    89
    Location:
    listening to vinyl, st.louis
    i dont have the firewall on
     
  6. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    From a quick google search

    Click Start.
    Click Run.
    Type regsvr32 softpub.dll
    Click OK. A pop-up should display with the message Dll Register Server in softpub.dll Succeeded.
    Click OK.
     
  7. Moon

    Moon New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2002
    Messages:
    27,080
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you running Peer Guardian by any chance?
     
  8. 1fastz28

    1fastz28 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    59,532
    Likes Received:
    89
    Location:
    listening to vinyl, st.louis
    didn't work :wtc:
     
  9. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Not a clue... It does sound like a firewall or something is blocking that port even though you said it's turned off.

    Try searching google and the Microsoft knowledge base.
     
  10. col_panic

    col_panic calm like a bomb Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    188,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    winter haven, fl
    copy these lines into notepad and save as a batch file. run from a command prompt

    c:
    cd\windows\system32
    regsvr32 softpub.dll
    regsvr32 wintrust.dll
    regsvr32 initpki.dll
    regsvr32 dssenh.dll
    regsvr32 rsaenh.dll
    regsvr32 gpkcsp.dll
    regsvr32 sccbase.dll
    regsvr32 slbcsp.dll
     
  11. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    are you at work? maybe their proxy doesn't allow 443 outside
     
  12. 1fastz28

    1fastz28 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    59,532
    Likes Received:
    89
    Location:
    listening to vinyl, st.louis
    col_panic, that didn't work, and i'm at home

    how do i go back to a specific date so i have the same setttings that i used to
     

Share This Page