Cant access google.com

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by mellowfezzow, Feb 11, 2010.

  1. mellowfezzow

    mellowfezzow New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pomo
    For some reason my macbook pro wont access google.com, gmail.com, maps.google.com or any other google site. Also just found out it wont access yahoo.com either. Its been about 24hrs now and its driving me crazy. My gfs macbook is doing just fine. I restarted my dsl modem and router and still no luck.

    What do I do???
     
  2. quid

    quid I Piss Excellence OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Messages:
    50,352
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    california
    move out of china
     
  3. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
  4. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    did you also reboot your mac??

    then type:
    Code:
    ping www.google.com
    
    and
    Code:
    cat /etc/hosts
    
    into the terminal program and paste the result here.
     
  5. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is what I was going to suggest. Not sure how the host file would have been edited without you knowing though...
     
  6. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    no that is definitely more of a windows thing, but I thought i'd get them both out of the way in one go.. it could still be a friend being an asshole etc.
     
  7. omgwtfbbqryan

    omgwtfbbqryan OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    14,590
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    Wirelessly posted via wap.offtopic.com (iPhone: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_1_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7E18 Safari/528.16)

    It doesn't work in all browsers?
     
  8. SpyderMonkey

    SpyderMonkey OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    Messages:
    4,568
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    if you have peerguardian installed, uninstall, reboot and see if that helps. I've noticed that peerguardian (even when not running the actual application itself) tends to block random websites.
     

Share This Page