A&P Canon or Nikon or ?? 35mm--> Digital SLR

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by eighteen_psi, Nov 17, 2003.

1. eighteen_psi

eighteen_psi Active Member

As I've mentioned a couple times I'm looking into a newer SLR camera (move my old-school Fujica to backup duty) I can continue to learn on and use to take (among other things) my own stock images (I'm a graphic designer).

Introduction asside, I've also mentioned my experiences with a Canon Elan II-E and have heard nothing but good things about it for my application. A body/lens setup to fill my needs is still a bit out of my price range but it won't be for long. This brings me to my question: is this a cost-effective camera to buy in the sceme of things when I plan to invest in a top-notch digital SLR upon graduation (december of 2004)? What about a similarly spec'd Nikon?

I hear plenty from users of both about how their cams are best "because they are" but I take it both make fine lenses and bodys or so many people wouldn't use both. Which serves me best now and which migrates a lens investment to digital best?

If there's a reason I should go digital now, let me hear that too but my research has led me to believe I can get better quality from my scanner and prints than any digital I can afford...true story?

BTW this is a fine opportunity to pimp your own gear too :) I will be buying before year end.

2. mojito

mojito New Member

I have the elan 2e and a D30. I sell cameras and camcorders, and thus have the opportunity to try everything out. The 10d is going to be almost identical in performance and ease of use as your Elan. Definetly worth the money. I particularly don't care for the rebel, but for the price, its not bad.

3. eighteen_psi