A&P Canon crew: remote controls?

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by JaimeZX, Nov 9, 2006.

  1. JaimeZX

    JaimeZX Formerly of :Sep 2001: fame - Also: Sprout Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    9,226
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    What's the best remote shutter release for the 20D? I'd prefer one that lets you set a bulb time. THX :wavey:
     
  2. nicklk

    nicklk New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Messages:
    23,760
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    The wireless one......RC-1..

    [​IMG]
     
  3. JaimeZX

    JaimeZX Formerly of :Sep 2001: fame - Also: Sprout Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    9,226
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    Hm. The only downside of the wireless version would be you'd be using the battery and have to remain in LoS the entire time you were tripping a bulb exposure, right?
     
  4. N-Word-Jim

    N-Word-Jim Cure for boredom

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Messages:
    7,754
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Midwest
    i have the $150 one something with a 26 in the title or whatever

    its fuckin bomb. definitely nice to be able tos et bulb time.
     
  5. Pineapple Devil

    Pineapple Devil beat it!

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    53,754
    Likes Received:
    8
    i dont think that one works with the 20d
     
  6. Pineapple Devil

    Pineapple Devil beat it!

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    53,754
    Likes Received:
    8
    nah. you can stand behind the camera and hold it to the side and it'll still work
     
  7. JaimeZX

    JaimeZX Formerly of :Sep 2001: fame - Also: Sprout Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    9,226
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    Hm. What kind of battery does it take? Or is it rechargable? And again, would it be convenient for say, a 20-minute exposure?
     
  8. nicklk

    nicklk New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Messages:
    23,760
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Its a one click on, one click off.........you dont use the battery for 20 minutes...

    I looked at it online and dont know if it works for the 20D??? You might need the cable version??

    And by the way, I've used mine for 80 minute exposure!
     
  9. JaimeZX

    JaimeZX Formerly of :Sep 2001: fame - Also: Sprout Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    9,226
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    Iiii see. So if I understand you correctly, on "bulb" you click it once to open the shutter, and again to close it later. Right?
     
  10. JaimeZX

    JaimeZX Formerly of :Sep 2001: fame - Also: Sprout Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    9,226
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    Wait. The RC-1 doesn't work on the 20D because the 20D doesn't have an IR receiver. :squint:
     
  11. nicklk

    nicklk New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Messages:
    23,760
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
  12. JaimeZX

    JaimeZX Formerly of :Sep 2001: fame - Also: Sprout Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    9,226
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    :rofl: I found a website where a guy bought the fancy expensive IR transmitter, then went to Radio Shack and bought a $5.99 universal programmable TV remote, programmed the expensive commands into the remote, then returned the transmitter and just uses the TV remote. :rofl:
     
  13. CornUponCob

    CornUponCob New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2001
    Messages:
    15,319
    Likes Received:
    0
    :eek3: Brilliant idea. Link me please....

    Wait... I have a 30D, so nevermind.
     
  14. JaimeZX

    JaimeZX Formerly of :Sep 2001: fame - Also: Sprout Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    9,226
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    :dunno: I closed all the search windows I had open. I'm sure it'd be easy to find. :hs:
     
  15. oh snap that is genious! :eek3: :bowdown:
     
  16. mattsb2000

    mattsb2000 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    61,666
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    San Bernardino, CA
    The 300d takes a remote code for some wierd VCR.

    The record button is the shutter release.
     
  17. itr452

    itr452 VTEC motherfucker, GOT ANY?

    Joined:
    May 15, 2000
    Messages:
    4,911
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    tell me MOAR!!!!! plz? thx :mamoru:
     
  18. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    there are also $5 chinese ones on ebay that work with nikon and canon at the flick of a switch.. :dunno:
     
  19. e.pie

    e.pie Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    91,427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KFLY
    :rofl:
     
  20. mattsb2000

    mattsb2000 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    61,666
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    San Bernardino, CA

    camerahacker.com has information on it.
     
  21. mojito

    mojito New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    62,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    use a computer



    [​IMG]
     
  22. itr452

    itr452 VTEC motherfucker, GOT ANY?

    Joined:
    May 15, 2000
    Messages:
    4,911
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    :bigthumb: :bigthumb: GOOD shit broly! thx! :coolugh:
     
  23. mattsb2000

    mattsb2000 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    61,666
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    San Bernardino, CA

    Invisible camera!!


    I can't tell with you canadians sometimes. :rofl:
     

Share This Page