Cannot get to a specific webpage on Comast cable

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by cmsurfer, May 15, 2007.

  1. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    I'm helping a buddy out with this so I figure I'd ask here...

    www.koolknobs.com (custom shift knobs)

    Anyway... He cannot access this webpage. He did a little poll on another BB and it seems that most people on Comcast cable cannot access this web page. I have Comcast at work and cannot access it. I have Optimum Online cable at home and can access the page fine.

    He called Comcast about it and they insist that the problem is something with his PC. He has 2 or 3 PC's in the house and neither of them can access the page.

    He's tried the usual delete cookies/temp files, etc, but nothing seems to work. In fact, he's never been able to access the site on Comcast.

    Also can't ping the site either...

    Any ideas?
     
  2. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Yeah, run a tracert to it - from both Comcast and "other". Here's the last dozen or so legs from me:

    6 20 ms 17 ms 22 ms ae-1-51.mp1.seattle1.level3.net [4.68.105.1]
    7 38 ms 32 ms 32 ms ae-0-0.bbr1.sanjose1.level3.net [64.159.1.129]
    8 38 ms 35 ms 33 ms ae-14-53.car4.sanjose1.level3.net [4.68.123.78]

    9 38 ms 33 ms 32 ms qwest-level3-te.sanjose1.level3.net [4.68.111.17
    4]
    10 37 ms 34 ms 32 ms svx-core-02.inet.qwest.net [205.171.214.45]
    11 * * * Request timed out.
    12 73 ms 71 ms 72 ms chy-core-02.inet.qwest.net [205.171.8.137]
    13 76 ms 73 ms 72 ms chy-edge-01.inet.qwest.net [205.171.158.38]
    14 213 ms 84 ms 85 ms 65.121.98.158
    15 86 ms 80 ms 101 ms www.collinscom.net [65.125.138.43]
     
  3. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    From Comcast:

    Code:
    F:\>tracert www.koolknobs.com
    
    Tracing route to www.koolknobs.com [65.125.138.43]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:
    
      1     2 ms     2 ms     1 ms  10.1.1.4
      2     4 ms     3 ms     2 ms  74-92-90-2-Philadelphia.hfc.comcastbusiness.net
    [74.92.90.2]
      3     *        *        *     Request timed out.
      4    11 ms    12 ms    12 ms  ge-2-4-ur01.union.nj.panjde.comcast.net [68.86.2
    20.145]
      5    10 ms    12 ms    10 ms  po-10-ur02.union.nj.panjde.comcast.net [68.86.20
    9.238]
      6    10 ms    11 ms    11 ms  po-10-ur01.jerseycity.nj.panjde.comcast.net [68.
    86.209.242]
      7    11 ms    11 ms    11 ms  po-10-ur02.jerseycity.nj.panjde.comcast.net [68.
    86.209.246]
      8    11 ms    11 ms    12 ms  po-10-ur01.narlington.nj.panjde.comcast.net [68.
    86.209.250]
      9    11 ms    11 ms    11 ms  68.86.158.178
     10    34 ms    18 ms    12 ms  po-70-ar01.verona.nj.panjde.comcast.net [68.86.2
    09.254]
     11    12 ms    11 ms    11 ms  po-10-ar01.plainfield.nj.panjde.comcast.net [68.
    86.208.5]
     12    12 ms    14 ms    12 ms  GE-2-0-cr01.plainfield.nj.core.comcast.net [68.8
    6.211.2]
     13    12 ms    13 ms    13 ms  12.118.149.5
     14    15 ms    15 ms    15 ms  tbr2.n54ny.ip.att.net [12.123.3.14]
     15    12 ms    13 ms    13 ms  ggr1.n54ny.ip.att.net [12.123.0.61]
     16    12 ms    13 ms    13 ms  att-gw.ny.qwest.net [192.205.32.170]
     17    13 ms    18 ms    13 ms  jfk-core-01.inet.qwest.net [205.171.230.26]
     18    77 ms    73 ms    68 ms  dvr-core-02.inet.qwest.net [205.171.142.2]
     19    73 ms    73 ms    71 ms  chy-core-02.inet.qwest.net [205.171.8.137]
     20    73 ms    73 ms    71 ms  chy-edge-01.inet.qwest.net [205.171.158.38]
     21    80 ms    82 ms    79 ms  65.121.98.158
     22     *        *        *     Request timed out.
     23     *        *        *     Request timed out.
     24     *        *        *     Request timed out.
     25     *        *        *     Request timed out.
     26     *        *        *     Request timed out.
     27     *        *        *     Request timed out.
     28     *        *        *     Request timed out.
     29     *        *        *     Request timed out.
     30     *        *        *     Request timed out.
    
    Trace complete. 
    ===========================
    From Home:

    Code:
    C:\Documents and Settings\Steve>tracert [url]www.koolknobs.com[/url]
    
    Tracing route to [url]www.koolknobs.com[/url] [65.125.138.43]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:
    
      1     7 ms     7 ms    11 ms  10.70.0.1
      2     7 ms     7 ms     7 ms  dstswr1-vlan2.rh.syrvnj.cv.net [67.83.250.33]
      3     *        *        *     Request timed out.
      4     *        *        *     Request timed out.
      5     *        *        *     Request timed out.
      6     *        *        *     Request timed out.
      7    10 ms    11 ms    13 ms  ge-7-0-0-56.gar4.NewYork1.Level3.net [4.68.97.16
    5]
      8    12 ms    12 ms    13 ms  qwest-level3-oc48.NewYork.Level3.net [4.68.110.1
    74]
      9    13 ms    14 ms    12 ms  ewr-core-01.inet.qwest.net [205.171.17.125]
     10     *        *        *     Request timed out.
     11    72 ms    73 ms    74 ms  chy-core-02.inet.qwest.net [205.171.8.137]
     12    72 ms    71 ms    73 ms  chy-edge-01.inet.qwest.net [205.171.158.38]
     13    81 ms    83 ms    94 ms  65.121.98.158
     14   111 ms    97 ms    88 ms  [url]www.collinscom.net[/url] [65.125.138.43]
    
    Trace complete. 
    So what gives? I don't quite know what's going on...
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    bad route in the routing table.
     
  5. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Hmmm - the difference is what's before this leg:

    chy-core-02.inet.qwest.net [205.171.8.137]

    I guess it's possible the router is dropping the return packets, but it's probably more likely a set of IPs blocked somewhere.

    What about the same test to 65.125.138.44?
     
  6. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Code:
    F:\>tracert 65.125.138.44
    
    Tracing route to 65.125.138.44 over a maximum of 30 hops
    
      1     3 ms     1 ms     1 ms  10.1.1.4
      2     4 ms     3 ms     3 ms  74-92-90-2-Philadelphia.hfc.comcastbusiness.net
    [74.92.90.2]
      3     *        *        *     Request timed out.
      4    11 ms    11 ms     9 ms  ge-2-4-ur01.union.nj.panjde.comcast.net [68.86.2
    20.145]
      5    15 ms    11 ms     9 ms  po-10-ur02.union.nj.panjde.comcast.net [68.86.20
    9.238]
      6    11 ms    11 ms    16 ms  po-10-ur01.jerseycity.nj.panjde.comcast.net [68.
    86.209.242]
      7    23 ms    11 ms    13 ms  po-10-ur02.jerseycity.nj.panjde.comcast.net [68.
    86.209.246]
      8    18 ms    23 ms    15 ms  po-10-ur01.narlington.nj.panjde.comcast.net [68.
    86.209.250]
      9    11 ms    11 ms    13 ms  68.86.158.178
     10    12 ms    13 ms    14 ms  po-70-ar01.verona.nj.panjde.comcast.net [68.86.2
    09.254]
     11    14 ms    13 ms    15 ms  po-10-ar01.plainfield.nj.panjde.comcast.net [68.
    86.208.5]
     12    12 ms    21 ms    14 ms  ge-2-0-cr01.plainfield.nj.core.comcast.net [68.8
    6.211.2]
     13    17 ms    16 ms    18 ms  12.119.12.17
     14    16 ms    15 ms    15 ms  tbr2.n54ny.ip.att.net [12.123.219.133]
     15    19 ms    15 ms    13 ms  ggr1.n54ny.ip.att.net [12.123.0.61]
     16    18 ms    13 ms    16 ms  att-gw.ny.qwest.net [192.205.32.170]
     17    14 ms    16 ms    13 ms  jfk-core-01.inet.qwest.net [205.171.230.26]
     18    77 ms    71 ms    68 ms  dvr-core-02.inet.qwest.net [205.171.142.2]
     19    73 ms    73 ms    73 ms  chy-core-02.inet.qwest.net [205.171.8.137]
     20    78 ms    71 ms    73 ms  chy-edge-01.inet.qwest.net [205.171.158.38]
     21   141 ms   149 ms   169 ms  65.121.98.158
     22     *        *        *     Request timed out.
     23   137 ms   134 ms   133 ms  65.125.138.44
     24   105 ms    94 ms   101 ms  65.125.138.44
     25   114 ms   122 ms   121 ms  65.125.138.44
    
    Trace complete.
    No big deal, I was just trying to help a buddy out.
     
  7. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    That's gotta be an IP block then (although that last 3 lines is... odd.) Those routes are identical.
     
  8. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Oh well.... Comcast really sucks for support. They never seem to help when you have a problem.
     
  9. Diggumz

    Diggumz Devin da dude

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    :eek5: i can't get on it either
     
  10. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Are you on Comcast?
     
  11. badguy106

    badguy106 Location:Tn

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    809
    Likes Received:
    0
    Comcast here, wont load for me either.
     
  12. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do a search online for "windows xp disable negative dns caching". Follow the instructions therein. At least then you know the computers aren't remembering a DNS failure that isn't really a problem anymore.

    Then run these commands in a command prompt:

    ipconfig /release
    ipconfig /flushdns
    ipconfig /renew
    ipconfig /registerdns
     
  13. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    those commands are entirely redundant. Simply /flushdns is all you need to do.
     
  14. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    I found this http://www.modemsite.com/56k/backbone2n2.asp, but no dice... It's obviously some kind of Comcast problem since more than a few with that ISP can't get to the site.

    I did find out that one of those free anonymous surfing sites loaded the page though...
     
  15. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    It was a copy/paste of the standard commands I tell anyone with connectivity problems to run. They're not all necessary in this case, but in some cases they are needed.
     

Share This Page