Can you turn off...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by verbal, Mar 14, 2006.

  1. verbal

    verbal Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    22,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    .."sleep when screen is closed?"
     
  2. Shiva Chaos

    Shiva Chaos i see boobies!

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2002
    Messages:
    106,187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Under your bed
    in the power settigns
     
  3. verbal

    verbal Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    22,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    Where? I've been all over power and display settings and I don't see an option.
     
  4. D_Nice

    D_Nice Super-Moderator Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2001
    Messages:
    103,609
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    houston
    I have the option to stop it from entering sleep mode in my energy saver settings, but it still goes to sleep when I close the cover.
     
  5. Devoidarex

    Devoidarex Rexversusu v.2.0

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    10,774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pacific South-West
    I don't think you can do this via settings/prefs, but I believe there is some software crack out there that makes this possible.
     
  6. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    yet the new macbook has this option and even suggests it when using it as a desktop at home. check their website.
     
  7. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Quoted from http://www.apple.com/macbookpro/graphics.html

     
  8. Snotfist

    Snotfist I am the Urban Cowboy.

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MinnesOTa
    It isn't the screen it is the processor that gets wack.

    Powerbooks and MacBookPros allow you to do so, but not iBooks.
     
  9. biawokauns

    biawokauns New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2001
    Messages:
    19,893
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Republic of Kalifornia
    in order to run with the lid close, you need a seperate mouse and keyboard. connect them, and then hit any button and it'll wake up
     
  10. robwormald

    robwormald New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    33,035
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATX
  11. turbo91

    turbo91 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I believe it has to be on a/c power for this to work. I'll try later tonight ;)
     

Share This Page