A&P Can you take a bulb exposure longer than 15 minutes using the remote?

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by TtamNedlog, Sep 29, 2007.

  1. TtamNedlog

    TtamNedlog OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    2,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was trying to experiment with some bulb exposures, but I got nowhere fast when I realized I didn't own a remote (D80/N75). I was thinking of getting one, but I notice the setting in the D80 menu stating how long it remains responsive to the remote. 15 minutes is the maximum.

    What if I wanted to make an hour long bulb exposure using the remote? Would the remote still be able to close the shutter after 15 minutes? The N75 and D80 work with the same remote, so I assume they'd work the same in this respect.
     
  2. jeepilot

    jeepilot Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    4,603
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KCMO
    i've had exposures longer than 15 mins with the d80, but you realllllllly don't want to go past that with the amount of noise that will be made.
     
  3. TtamNedlog

    TtamNedlog OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    2,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    How did you get the exposure longer than 15 minutes? Surely you didn't hold the shutter release that long. And yeah I know the noise would start getting out of hand, but I'm primarily curious for the N75.
     
  4. Tedrzz

    Tedrzz New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,578
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    i made a 15 minute exposure with my d70 using my little finger, and it was free. woooo
     
  5. 1992 240SX

    1992 240SX New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,601
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
    I'm pretty sure on the D70 I can get them as long as 30 mins. You click the shutter button on the remote once and click it again to close it (I think after 30 mins it closes automatically, though). Not too sure about the D80 but it's prob. the same thing.
     
  6. anthem404

    anthem404 not my cup of mud

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia

    Not sure if they use the same as the d200, but my MC-36 has a hold feature, I've personally taken exposures around 30 minutes long of the midnight sky...

    but once again, I'm not sure if they use the mc-36.
     
  7. jeepilot

    jeepilot Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    4,603
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KCMO
    I had the IR remote and had the bulb setting on Manual. Pressed the button to open the shutter, timed out a beer's worth of exposure, then pressed the button again. Unfortunately i didn't have long exposure noise reduction on, so i got purple on the two upper corners. If you turn long exposure noise reduction, it's supposed to help with that, but it takes about 5 mins for the camera to process it.
     
  8. wisie

    wisie New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aus
    What kind of stuff will you be doing? As stacking your exposures seems popular to reduce noise
     

Share This Page