Can you run XP on old machines?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Swerve, Mar 28, 2005.

  1. Swerve

    Swerve OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    3,175
    Likes Received:
    3
    My PC is old:

    466mhz Celeron
    64mb RAM shared with graphics
    Win 98SE.

    I heard it is possible to run XP on older machines. Could I run it on mine?

    I know it will be slow but would it work OK?
     
  2. Juvenall

    Juvenall What Would Juvie Do?

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    2,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    #!/usr/bin/Detroit
    I ran XP on a system with stats much like that with few problems (aside from speed). However, I would look into getting some new memory first. You'll really kick yourself if you only have 64Mb.
     
  3. Swerve

    Swerve OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    3,175
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yeah I agree, I think the motherboard can only take up to 128mb but yes.
     
  4. col_panic

    col_panic calm like a bomb Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    188,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    winter haven, fl
    i've never run it on under 160 MB RAM. our MSCE says 128 is the minimum
     
  5. Juvenall

    Juvenall What Would Juvie Do?

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    2,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    #!/usr/bin/Detroit
    You *can* install in on a system with 64Mb with a little work, but you would really be better off drawing out what you'd be using it for in crayon.
     
  6. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    get more ram, and then optimize your system. A clean XP system will take about 32-50MB of ram, leaving the rest to run a few apps.
     
  7. Swerve

    Swerve OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    3,175
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks for all the help - do you think I would survive on 128mb of RAM
     
  8. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    i ran xp on a p1 166 MHZ, 96mb of ram.
     
  9. Keyzs

    Keyzs OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, MI
    Yes it will install and run ok, just SLOW!

    (I have a customer with 25 Dell Celeron 300-466's that are all loaded with XP Pro for his data entry people)
     
  10. Poon

    Poon New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Right next to you
    Yes but need more ram
     
  11. Derrict

    Derrict No, I am not Amish OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    9,484
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Amish Country, PA
    You can buy complete rigs for ~ $200 nowadays, with Intel P4 ~ 1.4ghz, 256-512 ram, 30-40gb HD, WinXP, etc etc. Time to ditch your old PC and get something a little better.
     
  12. twinturboteddy

    twinturboteddy Bling Bling!

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2000
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Gabriel, Ca, USA
    I ran XP on a P2 400 for YEARS!
     
  13. s2ktonv

    s2ktonv Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5,373
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bayarea
    I ran it on my old Pentium Pro 200mhz with 128mb ram and 3 gig HD and ran slow as fuck, but was enough to check email and surf the net. i downloaded stuff on occasion. it was a gateway 2000. my sister currently uses it and works fine on windows xp, but it lags alot. better than nuthin i guess.
     
  14. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    I've run it on a Pentium III 500 with 128MB of RAM. It was really slow, but usable with the eye candy and such turned off.
     
  15. Goonigoogoo

    Goonigoogoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    14,765
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can run xp with 64mb of ram, but it will walk not run.
     
  16. JohnDoe

    JohnDoe Guest

    xp is dumb on older machines IMO. It runs way slower than win 98/ win 95 for way slower comps. Ive had nothing but problems when I try xp with slow comps.
     
  17. Casino

    Casino OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Messages:
    15,540
    Likes Received:
    28
    I ran XP with no problem on my old HP Pavilion. It is a 466MHz Intel Celeron Processor, 20GB harddrive and 128MB of RAM. It works great. But the only thing is that it will slow down if I install a lot of programs on it or if I have a few programs open. Like I can't have AIM, iTunes and Firefox open at the same time without it slowing down. But if I just have Firefox open, it will work without problems or slowness.
     
  18. Link?


    :coolugh:

    I was considering buying a new motherboard, cpu, and ram for an old dell dimension xps p200s. I'm not sure what else I'd need - cpu cooler? fan? power supply? Or if I could use the ones from the old machine. I've got a new hd and dvd burner.

    $200 bucky seems like a pretty good deal. I don't need it to be a gaming machine (already have one of those). It just needs to be able to function well online and do basic multimedia stuff.

    Any suggestions? Would it be complicated to upgrade an older machine like a p200s? I like the tower and the monitor is fine.

    Ideas>? :sadwavey:
     
  19. Diggumz

    Diggumz Devin da dude

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    use nLite to lighten up your windows CD and get rid of some of those annoying services and programs, also it will allow you to have your display driver automatically loaded, and any other driver you want for that matter, google nlite.
     
  20. Bump


    :hs:
     
  21. grandampc

    grandampc OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ohio
    I have installed xp with SP2 on my grandma's workstation, It is a PII 266 mhz with 64meg of ram. She only uses it for e-mail, solitair, and some online surfing. It moves fast enough for her.
     
  22. DaIceMan

    DaIceMan Jack Bauer > *.*

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    3,475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Springfield-ish, Missouri
    500mhz/128mb is the low limit for installing XP for me. I run 98se on the rest of my network.
     

Share This Page