MIL Can you guys tell me about PsyOps and Military Intel Officer Positions

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Kafka, Oct 24, 2008.

1. Kafka

Kafka New Member

I've had this sudden urge of patriotism. :)

Anyway I'm a grad student, pretty sure I can pass the required tests. But I've heard stories of getting stuck doing things in the army you never wanted to do. How can I make sure I'm on the path I set on to? Also any information besides whats on the websites would be appreciated about the particular career paths. which one do you think is the better option. After service, I'd like to get into some fed gov't work, and I'm sure both would be great for it.

2. Drunk Bastard Audio

Drunk Bastard Audio New Member

Don't worry about PsyOps til you're a 1LT (P).

3. JSin

JSin New Member

And if your a college op, the chances of you getting MI are very very low and not your choice at all.

4. origin unknown

origin unknown OT Supporter

branch infantry then MI...

5. TRN

TRN Well-Known Member

For Army? No

6. Burrito10

Burrito10 New Member

Willijdubb was enlisted PSYOP and would be more than happy to answer any questions about it, if he was time anyway. Have not seen him in awhile

7. Kafka

Kafka New Member

this is where i got my info. btw slow your roll with the abbreviations, what's op? :o

http://www.goarmy.com/JobDetail.do?id=301

8. JSin

JSin New Member

College option. Those of us who walk in of the street with a degree and want to become an officer.

Your info is fine, but the Army decides what branch to give you based on what it needs, and it RARELY needs MI officers after west point, ROTC and prior enlisted get their choices. College Op gets whats left. I got #7 on my list.

9. eu4ia

eu4ia Active Member

I've got a friend at OCS right now and he said MI had the second most available slots for branching :dunno:

10. JSin

JSin New Member