SRS Can you guys let me know you opinions on which career I should choose?

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by familyguy101, Jul 1, 2009.

1. familyguy101

familyguy101 New Member

I'm basically looking for advice from people older than me who can give me good advice when picking a career. I've seen SOOO many people get laid off recently and bitch non stop about life/economy/money. Lots of people tell me not to make the same mistake they made. They tell me to specialize in something that has great job security and pays well. I'm sure lots of people told THEM at one point the same thing so why did they make the mistakes they weren't supposed to make?

Anyway, here is my dilema: I've been in a constant state of panic the last few months. I graduated High School in 2006 and have basically just been floating around my town doing jack shit working go nowhere jobs. It's time to learn a skill, get and education, and land a real career job that pays well that I can actually support a family on. I've been doing career research like crazy and have finally narrowed down my few jobs. These are pretty much the best options I have found that appeal to me the most. The only problem is that I keep weighing the pros and cons of each over and over and over again and I just can't pick one. Hopefully some of you can give me some good advice so I can make a good decision. Here they are:

Firefighter/Paramedic
    Pros- Work outside, save live/help people, different scenery every day, one of the most rewarding careers, excellent benefits.

Cons- Pay is good (not great, but good), job can be very dangerous, may take up to 5 years to get a job on a good department, have to deal with puke/guts/feces when dealing with really sick people.

Bottom line- You'll never get rich doing this, but you'll have a rewarding career.

Pharmacist