Can sudden power loss cause computer damage?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Fachh, May 26, 2008.

  1. Fachh

    Fachh New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,961
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Was just thinkin about this last night

    so

    can it?
     
  2. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
  3. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    yes.

    can cause data loss, as well as any number of actual component failures.
     
  4. Fachh

    Fachh New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,961
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    what kinda damage we talkin about?

    data loss isn't a big deal unless were talking core files being deleted
     
  5. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    it can really fuck up your OS. Basically any files that were open will not get fully re-written. Since the OS is running that will include many "critical system files".

    As far as damage, it's most like the psu that goes first. But I've seen it take out mobos fairly often. Video cards, network cards, sound cards, hard drive controllers, firewire controllers, cpus, memory, hard drives, optical drives, etc... They've all gone bad at some point due to a power problem.

    I think PSU and mobo are the two main concerns. Then expansion cards and drives.
     
  6. MSTRBKR

    MSTRBKR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    7,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cydonia
    I was drunk and my 'puter froze. I hit the reset button and it wiped the OS. I got an 'error loading operating system' message.

    Took kill disk to get the drive back to a useable state, ofcourse, I lost everything. But I backup everything.

    I'm not sure but are reset buttons a bad thing these days? This was on Vista.
     
  7. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,735
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    i thought a journaling operating system would help solve a problem like this. i guess if the buffers hadn't written anything to disk, data corruption would occur
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Journaling_file_system


    i personally do not have a problem with just tapping the reset button if i need to. i obviously wouldn't do it if i was in the middle of something though. its probably a much better idea to just spend a few extra seconds to let it shutdown gracefully
     
  8. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    many new machines don't have reset buttons, or make them small and difficult to use.

    personally, I've had issues with "reset". So I will hold the power down for ~10 secs, wait 5, press power again.
     
  9. MSTRBKR

    MSTRBKR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    7,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cydonia
    Yeah when I built my PC I hooked it up for some reason. I knew they were bad news and always held the power button; until I came in drunk :wtc::rofl:
     
  10. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Funny, I've never had a problem with them. I've even hit Reset in the middle of disk writes when my computer was chugging and I was in a bad mood. I guess I've just been lucky thus far.

    Now, I used to have a computer that had one spot on the case that if I kicked it right there, it would freeze solid every time. It was a good way of reminding myself to not be a dumbass.

    EDIT: When I hit Reset, though, I do like you do and I hold it down for a few seconds to let the RAM clear itself.
     
  11. MSTRBKR

    MSTRBKR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    7,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cydonia
    Probably what I didn't do.

    Funny how a power cut doesn't have this effect though.
     
  12. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Probably because a power cut at the power supply takes a couple of seconds to propagate through the system, and if the hard disk isn't fully powered-down, its internal RAM could retain corrupted instructions that it tries to follow through on once the power comes back. Stabbing the Reset button for a split-second could easily cause a scenario like this.
     
  13. trouphaz

    trouphaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    it can cause problems. most of the time you won't really notice anything, but it isn't like a very tiny chance it'll happen. so, if you consistently just killing power to your PC without shutting down properly, you will eventually break something whether losing files or damaging components.
     
  14. aim2kill

    aim2kill New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    deployed.
    yeah, some of our radio gear in the navy is very sensative to what we call blackouts on a ship, but we also suffer from random brownouts which can be just as bad if not worse. UPS ftw
     
  15. Mike99TA

    Mike99TA I don't have anything clever to put here right now

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2001
    Messages:
    4,553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    lol what? Who cares about core files - I'd be much more worried about losing pictures of my daughter when she was first born or financial information - core files can easily be repaired.
     
  16. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Fwiw, the worst damage that can come from a power failure is when the power suddenly spikes when it comes back up.
    That can fry just about anything electronic.
     
  17. Fachh

    Fachh New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,961
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    will a surge protector do anything?

    where can I get a good UPS without breaking my bank
     
  18. Fachh

    Fachh New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,961
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    dont have either on my computer
     

Share This Page