MIL Can someone tell me the pros/cons of ROTC vs OTS?

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Thisisnew, Dec 13, 2008.

1. Thisisnew

Thisisnew Guest

Im considering joining the AF and Im looking into my options. Im currently a freshman at college, and see that I can do either ROTC or go to OTS post-grad. Is either one better/more sought after/etc? Any benefits or negatives of doing a specific one? It seems that OTS is much more competitive to get into, but I have no idea :o

Any advice anyone has would be greatly appreciated :x:

2. NEp8ntballer

NEp8ntballer New Member

OTS is way hard to get into right now. ROTC is probably what you're gonna want to do. Join up at semester and then you'll take the first part of the AS1 year next year. So long as you can maintain a GPA of at least 2.0(2.5 if you want to compete for a scholarship), can run a mile and a half in 12:30 or less, can do about 33 pushups in a minute and can also do around 40 crunches you'll meet those requirements. So long as you have the GPA, physical ability, don't have a lot of civil involvement or have more than one MIP you'll meet the standards.

3. ElCidKid

ElCidKid New Member

still through ROTC not all cadets get contracted, contracts are getting more competitive. And 13 weeks > 4 years

4. Thisisnew

Thisisnew Guest

Really? I thought all were contracted, and that was a pretty major factor...it would suck to not get into OTS, but if the shots are the same for ROTC then yeah 13 weeks > 4 years. I'd like to think Ill be pretty competitive by the end of my 4 years, but I dont really know how competitive it truly is :dunno:

What about something like study abroad? Would that effectively eliminate my chances at ROTC?

5. NEp8ntballer

NEp8ntballer New Member