Can someone build me a good system for under $600 ?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by wongerbonger, Dec 2, 2003.

1. wongerbonger

wongerbonger New Member

I want a good, fast system that is under $600

Here are the parts I already have :

- Enermax C-125-B ATX Mid Tower Case
    - Western Digital 160gb hard drive
    - DVD-R Drive
    - DVD +/- RW Drive
    - ATI Raedon All-in-one Wonder TV Card

So all I really need is a good motherboard, CPU, video card, sound card, cooler, memory, etc.

2. wongerbonger

wongerbonger New Member

:cool:

so for the CPU i was looking at the Athlon XP 3000+ (or 3500 i forget) is that a better one ?

What is a HSF ? i'm a noob..

also, will this be a fast computer? I tend to play a lot of games and run a lot of programs at one time, and im hoping that my new system will have this. Is the mobo a good one? i've never heard of it, what if i replace that mobo with a Soyo Dragon Ultra ? will it work ?

3. Blindsight

Blindsight Guest

The 8RDA3+ is a very nice motherboard, I was considering it for awhile

HSF = heatsink + fan, this is what cools your processor. Retail packaged processors come with a "stock" HSF which is "okay" for most users, but alot of people spend $50-60 on a nice HSF with alot of cooling power. You can check out a great list of recomended HSFs here.

As far as the CPU goes, a Barton 2500 is fast and adequate for games. AMD is shipping the Barton 2500s with locked multipliers (edit: so you can only overclock by bumping the FSB). So basically, your money is best spent buying the cheapest unlocked Barton core and overclocking it to whatever speed you want, because that's essentially what AMD does for its faster Barton chips. Don't spend your money on a 3200 or a 3000 or whatever, just drop the $100 and get a 2600 and OC it if you find its not adequate.

Last edited by a moderator: Dec 2, 2003
  4. wongerbonger

wongerbonger New Member