Can I salvage anything?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Robb, Nov 27, 2007.

  1. Robb

    Robb Guest

    Considering an upgrade, as I really need to build a new comp.

    Heres my current Setup

    -Cheap case-definately getting replaced
    -mobo-asrock - def. replaced
    -p4-def replaced
    -(2)80gb seagate IDE HD's-most likely save for backups
    -1 GB Corsair 3200 DDR Ram-do newer mobos still support regular DDR?
    -2 dvd burners-save
    -soundblaster 5.1 sound card?
    -cheap tv tuner card?
    -asus 256mb video card - i might save, dont really game at all, just need somehthing to support dual monitors




    So basically, I need a new case, mobo/processor, sata? hard drive?, and possibly 2GB ram


    my main question is, should I save the 1gb of ddr3200 ram that i have and buy another gb of that for cheap? or get rid of it and move onto ddr2


    I dont really know what processor/mobo to go w/ either, i built a dual core system for my mom in law and was pretty impressed, i think it was the e6400, but cant remember right now.


    i actually should look over at newegg, but wanted some opinions here too.
     
  2. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    no, with RAM as cheap as it is nowadays the $40 you would save on not buying new DDR2 RAM would not be worth the loss of performance

    and as far as CPU choices, how much horsepower do you need? If you need speed go with Intel, a high end C2D or even a quad. If you only use the computer for internet, email, office and the like, then consider am AMD chip, they are not a powerful as the Intels on the high end right now, but you can save alot of money if you only need something mid-range
     
  3. Robb

    Robb Guest

    i do a little graphic work in ps, i play shotonline (not a graphic heavy game), and thats it, besides surfing, internet,

    i occasionally burn a dvd, and would like to be able to do other stuff while that is processing.
     
  4. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    Wirelessly posted via wap.offtopic.com (BlackBerry8300/4.2.2 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/102)

    It sounds like any of the midrange AMD CPUs will suit you well. Look for something of the Brisbane core that suits your price range
     
  5. Robb

    Robb Guest

    ive never used amd, and would prefer to not :o
     
  6. Robb

    Robb Guest

    thoughts on this?
    Intel Pentium D 925 Dual Core 3.0 GHz
     
  7. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    You can get the newer 1mb cache core 2 duo chips for around the same money.
     
  8. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
  9. Robb

    Robb Guest

    Heres the specs I came up w/

    Intel 2.2Ghz C2D
    Asus Mobo
    4Gb Ram
    Seagate 250gbx2 Sata
    new Dvd burner w/ lightscribe
    Lian Li Case
    Sata Cables/Fans


    all for 635 shipped, this sound good?
     
  10. Bitter Moose

    Bitter Moose OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    13,395
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    What Asus mobo?
    4GB of RAM is a waste (it's so cheap I don't blame you for wanting it). I have 4GB but I'm having some issues with my mobo right now so I'm only running 2GB. There is no way you could ever tell the difference under windows XP.
     
  11. Robb

    Robb Guest

    yeah, ive been reading about 32 bit OS not being able to recognize over 3gb's, so i might just do 2gb and save some money. It is tempting though......its gotten a lot cheaper since my last build.
     
  12. Robb

    Robb Guest

    its pretty much a bare bones mobo, i dont really need a lot of extras honestly, its the p5GC-MX or I might go w/ the VMTPM
     

Share This Page