Can I pull a hard drive from one mac to another...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by kmad86, Mar 15, 2009.

  1. kmad86

    kmad86 Swine Epidemic Survival Crew '09 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    15,301
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ft. Smith, AR
    If I currently have an iMac 24" and I buy a new Mac Pro, can I pull my hard drive from this computer (iMac) and put it in any Mac Pro and will it boot fine? Why I ask this, is because every time I do a transfer it always asks me for my licenses and passwords and I would much rather just pull my hard drive and put it in my new computer.
     
  2. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    You can use a firewire cable and target mode to copy over.

    Plus, getting to the imac hdd is a bitch. :(
     
  3. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    Pretty sure it will not work.
     
  4. nsxrebel

    nsxrebel New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,272
    Likes Received:
    0
    +1 Target disk mode.
     
  5. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
  6. kmad86

    kmad86 Swine Epidemic Survival Crew '09 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    15,301
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ft. Smith, AR
    Pulling the iMac hard drive is no thing to me. I just changed the logic board out in this thing last week. Whenever I copy it all over, it never copies the passwords and there are lots of small pieces of software that I have purchased that are running out of licenses, same with my iTunes music. I have like 1 more computer to sync to before they won't transfer anymore.



    So I guess I am just screwed.
     
  7. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    for itunes you can just deauthorize all of them. The reauthorize.
     
  8. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
     
  9. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    When I got my new HDD for my MBP I just put the new drive in, connected old drive in firewire/usb external enclosure, during fresh install on new drive it asked to import. Said ok and I have not had one problem with any programs.
     
  10. arostad

    arostad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    Messages:
    780
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minot, ND
    A buddy of mine did a full time machine restore from a macbook to a 24" imac with no probs so idk why you couldn't do this, but it depends if you have a NEW mac pro too, i think all the new new macs have a special build of leopard on them.. Target disk mode is easy as hell and it's your best bet.
     
  11. moses

    moses OMGWTFBBQ

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2000
    Messages:
    40,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    no time machine backups for home?

    or superduper
     
  12. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thought this was going to be a big hassle myself but it actually is very easy and a better feeling you know you have a fresh hard drive and a fresh install of everything. Just make a detailed list of what you have, what you need, where your setup files/disk are, etc., with the passwords/codes for everything and start fresh.
     
  13. nsxrebel

    nsxrebel New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,272
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just bought a 250GB WD external drive, I'm gonna swap it in my MacBook tonight, and use the 80GB in the external case. $69 bucks at the Marine Corps Exchange FTW!

    Edit.

    Sweet, I now have 250GB MacBook! I used SuperDuper to clone my HDD to the new one. Couldn't be any easier. Now I can have my +75GB of music with me all the time.
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2009

Share This Page