Can I get some help with this XP error?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Camp OTE, May 8, 2007.

  1. Camp OTE

    Camp OTE New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm running XP pro and the machine shuts off right after logging in. The desktop will load and after a few seconds I get a screen that says "PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA" and the machine shuts itself off. There was no hardware or software installed or changed on the machine recently.

    The machine will boot in safe mode.
     
  2. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe that error means that the memory manager is telling Windows that the data it wants has been moved to the pagefile on the hard drive to free space in RAM, but the corresponding page in the pagefile doesn't exist. I think you're going to have to run a Windows Repair to fix that one.
     
  3. Moistfly

    Moistfly Anal Bum Cover

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2001
    Messages:
    12,434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    memory problem, tried replacing RAM to see what happens?
     
  4. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    That or run memtest
     
  5. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Try turning off the auto shutdowns.


    Start > Right click My Computer > properties > advanced > startup and recovery settings > Un-click automatically restart
     
  6. Camp OTE

    Camp OTE New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't have anything laying around to try. I think that would be the first thing that I would replace though. Unless the MB went bad at the memory slots. Is that even possible?
     
  7. Camp OTE

    Camp OTE New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do I have to burn a memtest iso to a CD then boot from it?
     
  8. Moistfly

    Moistfly Anal Bum Cover

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2001
    Messages:
    12,434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas

    Yeah, the memory controller can go bad. Brief online search also recommended disabling your cache in bios just to see if it will boot fully.

    Also, yes, burn the memtest image to a CD and boot from it.
     
  9. MOS95B

    MOS95B New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I recommend chkdsk first. And, shut down Windows properly. I went through this exact same thing sbout 3 or 4 weeks ago
     

Share This Page