Can DD-WRT limit bandwidth to all but one computer?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by asdfbunk, Aug 25, 2009.

  1. asdfbunk

    asdfbunk A Member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    29,807
    Likes Received:
    7
    I tried using QoS, but even setting MAC/IP addresses to be "exempt" from QoS rules doesn't free them from a bandwidth cap.

    Is my only option to "buy" the special dd-wrt?

    I'm using the latest version on a WRT54GL, thanks for any help.
     
  2. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any chance you can give details regarding your setup?
     
  3. asdfbunk

    asdfbunk A Member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    29,807
    Likes Received:
    7
    Basically, no computers are hooked up directly to the router, it's all wireless. I want one (whether it be specified by IP or MAC address) to have full access to all the bandwidth, NOT priority on bandwidth, I don't want the rest of the computers to be able to exceed a certain limit.

    Say the internet is 10down/1up, I want the one computer to be able to use it all, and the rest should be capped at 5down/.5up as a whole.

    I know the special version of DD-WRT can do this by having MAC/IP specific QoS entries, but I'm trying to figure out if i can do it without shelling out money.
     
  4. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    I have Tomato firmware on my WRT54GL and I believe you can do what you're wanting...
     
  5. Cock Diesel

    Cock Diesel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Messages:
    23,635
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere.
    You're probably better off with Tomato instead.
     
  6. asdfbunk

    asdfbunk A Member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    29,807
    Likes Received:
    7
    I looked in to that, but it looks like Tomato doesn't support broadcasting multiple SSIDs? That's another feature of DD-WRT that I'm using atm.
     

Share This Page