can car stereo stuff be hooked up to the

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by inline4, May 29, 2002.

  1. inline4

    inline4 turn that frown upside down

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2001
    Messages:
    53,647
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    shit, the car, theres hella scrapes
    12 volt on your computer powersupply to test stuff out?
     
  2. Geezle

    Geezle Sweetness :love:

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    Messages:
    18,778
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, you can. I know a guy that set up a ghetto stereo in his room with an old computer power supply, an old Pioneer deck, and some audiovox 6x9's...worked fairly well I might add
     
  3. RickylSmalls

    RickylSmalls OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2002
    Messages:
    149,435
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Ohio
    IB Housefire
     
  4. inline4

    inline4 turn that frown upside down

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2001
    Messages:
    53,647
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    shit, the car, theres hella scrapes
    will it fuck up though? thats my only concern
     
  5. RickylSmalls

    RickylSmalls OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2002
    Messages:
    149,435
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Ohio
    It could, its definetly not supposed 2 be done, therefore theres a risk of fawking it up, so my advice would be if u have anything of value dont take the risk.....
     
  6. XT

    XT Guest

    go to radio shack and a buy a 120 to 12v conveter, get it at at least 3 amps. I think their 40 bux and have pole connectors and a cig lighter plug
     
  7. 04

    04 Guest

    When you say test it out, do you mean at high volumes? If you just want to see if it will turn on, it should work. Bumping it to see how loud it is, is a big no no however, since the power supply does not have sufficient current output on the 12v line as GrumpyBB said above. Oh yeah, if you want to use an ATX power supply, you have to short I believe two wires on the MOBO connector to get it to start automatically when you flip the power switch in the back. I dont know the website, check google or something if your serious about this.
     
  8. Geezle

    Geezle Sweetness :love:

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    Messages:
    18,778
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, it won't.
     
  9. breathe

    breathe Guest

    It can be done, but only with small things, like small amps, HU etc.

    I know of a guy that has put his PS in series and has been running car audio things...

    go to poo4brains.com and leave a message in the open topics part for "wipeout" and I am sure he can help you out.
     
  10. M-1000

    M-1000 COME FLY AWAY

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    15,047
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Alberta
    i asked 3 people about this 2 weeks ago. one said its not possible, another said it is, but he wouldnt reccomend it, and then he wouldnt tell me how, and the 3rd said no. so i go to radioshack and they have 120-12v converters :rolleyes:
     
  11. Dekap

    Dekap Guest

    If you want to hook it up , then go ahead, but your not going to get its maximum performance out of it through a computer :)
     
  12. LOUDSYSTEM

    LOUDSYSTEM Guest

    it would run a head unit depending on the head unit other than that no
     
  13. inline4

    inline4 turn that frown upside down

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2001
    Messages:
    53,647
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    shit, the car, theres hella scrapes
    i just needed to test it. i went ahead and picked up a harness and rewired and tested it in car.
     

Share This Page