Can a Mac and windows machine use the same wireless router?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Mycophiles, Jul 26, 2004.

  1. Mycophiles

    Mycophiles OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    15,131
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    I'm having hell trying to figure this stuff out. :eek3:
     
  2. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    shouldn't be a problem.

    what kind of hardware (router, wifi cards, etc.)?
     
  3. Mycophiles

    Mycophiles OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    15,131
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    The router is a speedstream 2524. The card is a d-link wireless card, and then I have an airport (non extreme) card in the mac.

    I've reset the router. Reinstalled the drivers. Remade the network connections on both computers. I'm lost as to what the problem could be. This last time that I reset the router I think I finally wiped it clean unlike the other times. This might sound uninportant but when I reset the router the first couple times I didn't see any noticable signs the router actually was reset. This past time however all the lights on the router lite up. I think that it finaly reset. Now, since I've reset it I've been too lazy to go and bootup the computer but I'm hoping that it will finally work. I'm trying to quele a rumor that I heard about mac's and windows xp machines not being able to use the same router.
     
  4. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
    My G4 and my roommate's XP machine share the same linksys wireless router without any problems :dunno: it's definitely some piece of hardware along the chain that's uncooperative, and most likely not the client hardware (though networking settings could be misconfigured). Sounds like the router is shaky (I've never heard of speedstream :dunno: )

    Perhaps you should reset the router, let it sit without power for several minutes. Then plug it in, but don't connect any Enet cables to it (LAN or WAN) until it's done starting up. After that, plug in your cablemodem/DSL to the WAN port and let it autodetect everything (this is assuming that the router is set to DHCP by default (almost no one uses PPPoE anymore, and if they do, cancel service NOW :p)). Once that's done, allow clients to connect one at a time via DHCP and see if they come up.
     
  5. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Actually, I have SBC DSL and it uses PPPoE...and I just started using their service a couple of months ago.

    Perhaps the router is set to operate only with 802.11 G and one or both the cards are 802.11 B or something like that. :dunno:
     
  6. diranged

    diranged New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Likes Received:
    0
    The speedstream is a router -- but I dont believe it does NAT. You need something like a Linksys router to take care of this.

    <INTARWEB> -> SPEEDSTREAM -> LINKSYS -> Your computers
     
  7. Mycophiles

    Mycophiles OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    15,131
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    I got up this morning and turned the xp computer on and it worked. This whole time it was the router that was flaking. The reset last night fixed the problem and both computers are online. Thanks for the replies.
     
  8. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    :Linksys:
     
  9. Mycophiles

    Mycophiles OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    15,131
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    :bowdown: Your avatar.
     
  10. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    :) thanks.

    kinda sux since av's are limited to 20k. had to leave out another image that i wanted to inlcude as it just looked like total crap by the time i got it down to 20k. :wtc:

    here's the original with all four images and not quite as compressed...

    [​IMG]

    Edit: updated mine by making it 75 x 75 and fit all 4 images without it looking like an impressionist painting.
     
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2004
  11. acabrera

    acabrera Rumors of my death have been greatly exaggerated.

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    50,277
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Miami Beach, FL
    I have a belkin at home and hate it. It's one of the early wireless 802.11b routers and it shows. I'm looking into getting a Linksys (which I've heard good things about) or getting an Airport Extreme base station. I don't know what I'll do with the g router since i have a iBook G3
     
  12. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    at least it will be ready for your next PowerBook which will probably come with G or faster.
     
  13. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
    IMO airport extreme is overpriced :hsd: but if you get it and you need more range later on, airport express is guaranteed to work as a bridging device where other manufacturers might not necessarily be able to talk with the express router. There's a great review of the Express at ArsTechnica:

    http://arstechnica.com/reviews/004/airportexpress/airportexpress-1.html
     
  14. acabrera

    acabrera Rumors of my death have been greatly exaggerated.

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    50,277
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Miami Beach, FL
    :x:

    We both know it's going to happen.

    As soon as the G5 Powerbooks come out I'll pick up a 12". I really don't want anything bigger. I had the choice when I got my iBook to get either the 12" iBook or the 15" PB, and while the PB was badass I wanted something smaller to bum around my house with; of course the 12" PB was released 2 weeks after I got my iBook :mad:

    Plus i got a job today so I'll have some decent money saved by the time it comes in
     
  15. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    cool. what's up with the new job?
     
  16. acabrera

    acabrera Rumors of my death have been greatly exaggerated.

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    50,277
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Miami Beach, FL
    I'm doing web development and IT for the Spanish Broadcasting System (www.spanishbroadcasting.com)

    I haven't done anything for the site yet, but I'm doing a new site from scratch for that site and all the radio station sites in Miami. It's a cool job. They're letting me work from home so that shit is the bombdiggity.
     
  17. 2.5RS

    2.5RS Guest


    I am rigt now, I am an on an iBook and the wife is on a PC laptop.
     
  18. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    :bigthumb:
     
  19. acabrera

    acabrera Rumors of my death have been greatly exaggerated.

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    50,277
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Miami Beach, FL
    I looked at porn today at work

    just kidding, i punched out for 15 minutes
     

Share This Page