A&P Camera around $300, close zooming. Help?

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by ClA, Jul 10, 2002.

1. ClA

ClA Guest

Ok, I am not an expert on photography. My hobby is model building. Like cars, Gundam robots, resin figure kits, etc. Now, I am considering purchasing a digital camera to take pictures of my finish models.

Because models are pretty small, sometimes, I need to zoom real close to get to the details. That's important.

My price range is around $300.

I read in one of the post about a Nikon CoolPix 2500. Which is under $300. How good is it when it comes to close up shots??

What other DC do you recommend?

Please help all you pros out there.

By the way, this is my first post!! hehehee!! Thanks!

Here is an example of the kind of pictures that i would be taking. I used my friend's sony for this picture.

[​IMG]

2. ibewill

ibewill New Member

3. LS20

LS20 Guest

you don't want zoom.

what you are looking for is MACRO abilities.

almost all Nikons are terrific at macro.

the Coolpix 2500 is good, but look at the 775 as well.

Both are rated at 4cm (as close as you can get and still be in focus)

4. kubla khan

kubla khan Guest

i have a powershot a40 as well. i'm not too sure about its macro abilities, there are probably better...

5. LS20

LS20 Guest

the macro on the A40 is 16cm... the same as my S330

that about 7 inches, i think?

either way, it SUCKS, trust me on that....

6. assmonkey

assmonkey Guest

nikon owns in macro. the macro on mine is 4cm

7. iDrive

iDrive OTAP crew. Muradadog crew. GO GATORS!

I have the powershot a20 and I don't like the macro abilities on it. :dunno:

Go with the Nikon.

8. ClA

ClA Guest

Wow! Thanks for all your suggestions!! I am glad I ask you guys. I knew nothing about Macros and cms and everything!! Now i can tell the difference! Thanks men!

A few more questions!!

1) Ok, so what's the difference between Coolpix 2500 and 775?? Which one is better?