A&P Camcorder guru's...help me out (Canon XL2 vs. Canon XH-A1)

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by Genocide, Aug 1, 2007.

1. Genocide

Genocide Why does my W look like a peace sign?!

Hi everyone, let me just start out by saying that I will be using the camera for short films and indie type stuff. I'm a beginner but my cousin was one of the brightest prospects at his time at nyfa, so he's going to take me under his wing and teach me everything he knows, and we'll also be shooting together. Now that that's out of the way, I was talking to my cousin about which camera I should buy, and he said it's a really really tough choice.

The thing is I'm not sure if he understands how awesome the XH-A1 because he hasn't looked into camera's since he bought his two years ago. He said that the XL2 is awesome because you can change lenses, which could possibly give you an important shot that you couldn't get with the XH-A1, which brings up this question: Is the lens on the xh-a1 good enough to where we could get a good amount of the shots that we could get with the XL2 (with different lenses of course)? We're more about getting the right shot or right angle over shooting in HD, because we won't be shooting documentaries or shooting nature or anything like that, so HD is not required, however it would be absolutely AWESOME to shoot in HD.