Calling the power of all home theater guru's

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by RiCePiCkR, May 3, 2006.

1. RiCePiCkR

RiCePiCkR haay

i just got quoted for a home theater system and i wanted to see what you guys think. i'm a home theater newbie so help is appreciated in making this decision! thanks guys!

[​IMG]

2. amill94

amill94 OT Supporter

Doesn't seem too bad, but why is the discount price on the dvd player almost 3 times more than the list price? Also, thats a cheap price for a screen, what size is it?

Also, go with the Harmony 880. rechargable batteries, and color lcd ftw.

Never heard of Proficient speakers..have any specs on them?

What about other labor costs? ~$200 seems very cheap to install a projector, conceal cables, install screen and speakers.

3. Ronin

Ronin Guest

if it was me id be getting better speakers :dunno: id re ratio and spend a little less on a projector (actually if it was me id probably be going tv, unless u already have a tv room then go for it or u never watch tv)

500 dollar dvd player aye? sounds like a bit much

looks like they fucked that number up cuz msrp=150

u should be getting atleast a 1920 or better

4. RiCePiCkR

RiCePiCkR haay

thanks for th reply...

haha i saw the dvd player too.. i think it's a typo. but i'm calling my guy later to make sure.

the screen i believe is somewhere around 102". my room is around 14x16.

here are the specs on the speakers...

C870
    The C870 is our flagship LCR ceiling speaker and is designed for larger theater rooms and high-end systems. They Feature an 8" Kevlar woofer, 1" aluminum dome pivoting tweeter and 175 watt power handling. Plus, you can tailor bass and treble up or down thanks to front-mounted contour switches. The C870 speakers will look good and sound great for years to come.

Design:
    2-Way LCR in-ceiling
    Tweeter:
    Pivoting 1” Aluminum Dome
    Contour Switches:
    +3dB Bass and +3dB Treble
    Woofer: