Cable TV Distribution

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Kieffer87, Jun 9, 2007.

  1. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
  2. amill94

    amill94 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    31,216
    Likes Received:
    346
    Go to Lowes and pickup a home cable amplifier/distribution block. They are around $50-$100 depending on what you need, but the better ones require an electrical source to ampboost the signal.
     
  3. cassetti

    cassetti New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    delaware
    well, Amill94 is halfway there. You can get amplifiers and distro blocks - but the thing you don't mention is what sort of cable you are going to be using

    If you are going to be using on-demand services like those offered by comcast - those distro-blocks/amplifiers actually degrade the signal quality - to the point where your on-demand service will actually not work half the time!

    do some research if you are going to be using on-demand services before making any purchases.
     
  4. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    Nah don't plan on using any on demand services.
     
  5. amill94

    amill94 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    31,216
    Likes Received:
    346


    How else do you get the cable signal throughout the house? A house has one main line run to the house. From there it either splits using multiple splitters (shitty method) or a distribution panel/amplifier. How else do you get the lines through the house without starting at a panel/block amplifier?
     
  6. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    Yea we currently are using the shitty method with 2 splitters and an amplifier. Its to the point where my cable modem won't connect unless I change all the wires around so its on the very first split. So I figured it was time to get it straightened out. The thing I liked about the link I posted is it has a port for the modem as well.
     

Share This Page