Cable TV + Cat 5E Ethernet + Telephone + RCA Audio, Through One Hole?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Peyomp, Dec 30, 2005.

  1. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I'm working on a house, and we're running power, as well as cable TV, ethernet, telephone and RCA audio (to some rooms), and I need to know about interference. We're pulling power through its own holes, and are, I guess, pulling all the others (Cable TV, Cat 5E, Telephone, and RCA Audio) in one pull, through one set of holes. Is this okay? I know power will interfere with line quality in these others, but will they interfere among themselves?
     
  2. daviid

    daviid cell tower tech

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Concord, NC
    if you want to save your self some time and money, u can run your network and telephone off the same cat5e cable. network uses Pins 1,2,3,6 which is your Orange and Green pairs. you can use your blue or brown for your telephone
     
  3. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    why not go optical for internet/phone/rca.

    save you from EMI/RMI and is probably cheaper in the long haul.
     
  4. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not sure that would save us time, because the runs aren't all to the same end-points (some jacks have phone, but not Cat-5E) and the Cat 5E ends at a patch panel in the basement, whereas... the phone cable ends at the junction box I guess? But thanks for the tip, Thats interesting.
     
  5. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Price and complexity.
     
  6. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    When the phone rings, ethernet is boo-foo'd. No sharing cable.
     
  7. cctyler

    cctyler Mornin'

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,095
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Mb, Canada
    Wow, I swore I replied to this thread....different subforum.

    Anyway, look into leviton for the jacks, might be kind of pricey though. Try to find a buddy who is an electrictian to get you stuff at wholesale.
     
  8. XR250rdr

    XR250rdr OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    24,488
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Ca
    I think they'll be fine. The signal level on all those is pretty low. If the audio was amplified there might be an issue, but I doubt it with line level.
     
  9. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    You can run the RCA (and SVIDEO for that matter) over CAT5 also. They make keystone (levitan) jacks to convert it. Might save time and money since you can get multiple RCA outlets from one piece of CAT5.

    Note that I'm talking about a second CAT5 cable for the RCA, not sharing the network or phone runs.
     
  10. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    but much better quality & speed. + it's not that much more expensive. :wiggle:
     
  11. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    It's overkill for a house and the speed/quality will be virtually identical to copper for the application he is talking about.
     
  12. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    sound/music over RCA will degrade quite a bit. tried it before.
     
  13. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    Running single source optical to multiple outlets will require a lot of $$$ plus someone who can install it. That doesn't include the need to have an optical source to drive it and optical receivers for each outlet to recieve it. CD quality sound won't degrade enough over RCA to be noticeable unless the runs are over spec.
     
  14. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    it's still what i would do.
     
  15. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    Yea, but you're Canadian ;)
     
  16. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Canadians aren't like us. They're different.

    Anyway, there's no way I can convince my boss to use optical. Just not happening. But running RCA in Cat 5E is interesting. I guess we could pull the telephone and RCA together in one cable.
     
  17. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    no its the smart thing to do.
     
  18. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    No. Its not the smart thing to do. We already have some Cat 5E. And we know how to run it. We don't have fiber, don't know how to run it and we'd have to pay someone to do that. Which means less profit. Which is bad, being that this is a capitalistic endevour.

    Therefore fiber is a bad, bad idea.
     
  19. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    Bad for you, but still a smart choice.

    <---- has several friends who are qualified fibre installers.
    <---- can get fibre at 20 cents a food

    Fibre control panels cost a few bucks, but still, I say it's worth it. It will cover all future expantions in the long run.
     
  20. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    Will it? Nothing right now requires optical. It's usually a toss-up as to whether a device will support optical or coax. There is really no push to optical right now or in the near future since copper can do the same thing at the same speeds.

    Not everyone has friends to do this for them, you know.
     
  21. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    you'd be surprised about how many people you know after 2 or 3 degrees of separation.

    + if you're involved in with any other groups in the community, it just keep's growing and growing.
     
  22. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
  23. Mikey D

    Mikey D New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    6,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Royal Oak, MI
    Fiber is a great thing but for a house i think it's way over kill at this point in time and even a few years down the road still.
     
  24. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone ever try that plastic fiber that can be used for houses that is much cheaper?
     

Share This Page