cable modem brands

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by cleankutazn, Nov 11, 2007.

  1. cleankutazn

    cleankutazn New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there really a difference between them? I have an rca one and it keeps getting disconnected. Would a motorola modem be better?
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    different chipsets perform differently. I have always had more problems with cable modems than DSL modems. I'm on my 4th DSL modem in 5 years. When I had cable, I was going through about 4 modems a year.

    At the time, RCA DCM modems were better than Moto Surfboards. But now I think the SB5101 is your best bet if you don't have a decent DSL provider in your area.
     
  3. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    I just get the one from the cable company, if it fries, which they do from time to time, I just go swap it out for another

    the modem itself doesnt really have anything to do with bandwidth speeds unless its going out
     
  4. cleankutazn

    cleankutazn New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    i already switched two rca modems and it still disconnects a lot :mad:...I think i need to get a motorola modem or how bout a linksys?
     
  5. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    linksys modems are crap.
     
  6. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    I've got an Ambit modem from my cable ISP. Never had a problem with it.
     
  7. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,753
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    i had this scientific atlanta webstar for about a year and it was crap.
    i thought it was just my service, but after i switched to dsl, i gave it to my friend and he continues to have trouble with it to this day
    you have to reset it about 4 times a week
    [​IMG]
     
  8. cleankutazn

    cleankutazn New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    mine either resets itself or I have to reset it every day at least once:mad:
     
  9. cleankutazn

    cleankutazn New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    So how are you able to tell if its the service or the modem
     
  10. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    well if you have cable, the service is gonna suck. But with how cable works, being a shared network, the modems are always working hard -- and that generates heat -- and that's a big killer for this type of equipment.
     
  11. cleankutazn

    cleankutazn New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah i noticed that my older modem used to get pretty hot but the newer one didn't get as hot but sucks ass
     
  12. Leb_CRX

    Leb_CRX OT's resident terrorist

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Messages:
    39,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    no, not docsis modem's

    you're capped with a bin file or someshit, and that limits your speed

    it gets it when it provisions
     
  13. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    there is a diff. Yes there is a cap -- but cable networks are CPE-regulated. So some do better than others.
     
  14. etech

    etech New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    4,660
    Likes Received:
    0
    Open a page with this address.

    http://192.168.100.1/moreInfo.html

    See what the power levels upstream and downstream are.


    From here. http://www.dslreports.com/faq/15644
    Downstream (Rx) Receive Power Level:
    For all modems:
    -10 dBmV to +10 dBmV "Recommended".
    -11 dBmV to -14 dBmv / +11 dBmV to +14 dBmV "Acceptable".
    -15 dBmV & +15 dBmV "Maximum

    Upstream (Tx) Transmit Power (a.k.a. Return Signal) level:
    This is the amount of signal transmitted by the modem to reach the receiver in the cable company head-end.

    +8 dBmV to +58 dBmV maximum for QPSK. (DOCSIS 1.0, 1.1)
    +8 dBmV to +55 dBmV maximum for 8 QAM and 16 QAM. (DOCSIS 1.0, 1.1)
    +8 dBmV to +54 dBmV maximum for 32 QAM and 64 QAM. (A-TDMA DOCSIS 2.0)
    +8 dBmV to +53 dBmV maximum for S-CDMA DOCSIS 2.0 (All Modulations)

    Recommended upstream signal levels are +35 dBmV to +52 dBmV.

    If those are not in the recommended strengths then try fixing that problem first. Let us know if you need any assistance with that.


    I have the motorola SB5101 and have been satisfied with it. I had DSL for awhile, every day at 4pm I would get cut off. Sometimes it would only be off for a few minutes, sometimes for hours. I finally gave up and got cable and haven't looked back since.
     
  15. cleankutazn

    cleankutazn New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks that was really helpful checking out the signal strength...btw my received signal is only .4 dBmv is that too weak??
     
  16. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    no, 0.4 dBmv is within spec. damn near perfect, actually.
     
  17. cleankutazn

    cleankutazn New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Isnt higher better?
     
  18. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
  19. etech

    etech New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    4,660
    Likes Received:
    0
    What is your transmit power?

    That's the one that usually gives problems. The cable company can boost power down to you but your modem can only transmit so much. If you are on a long line or have too many splitters you'll have trouble.

    Though with that good of a receive level, this probably isn't your problem.
     
  20. cleankutazn

    cleankutazn New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    My transmit is 54 dBmv
     
  21. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    that's not good, imo.
     
  22. cleankutazn

    cleankutazn New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is that too low?
     
  23. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    too high.
     
  24. cleankutazn

    cleankutazn New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there a way to adjust it?
     
  25. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    not directly, and not by you.
     

Share This Page