C2D & DDR3 question

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by ZCP M3, Dec 9, 2009.

  1. ZCP M3

    ZCP M3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Messages:
    11,999
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    I'm currently running 2x2GB DDR3-1066 chips in my C2D powered laptop. Because I use VM's often I was considering jumping up to 6GB (2GB + 4GB chips) as 2x4GB is still fuckin' expensive. Does DDR3 operate in dual-channel mode only with matched DIMM sizes or will it still be dual-channeled with 6GB installed?

    It's been so long since I've fucked around with computer internals that I've forgotten this. :o
     
  2. OniMinion

    OniMinion ...recalls when this forum was actually about cars OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,894
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Indiana/Minnesota
    Matched needed
     
  3. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    Make sure both the laptop and OS support that much ram as well.
     
  4. ZCP M3

    ZCP M3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Messages:
    11,999
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    This is actually going in a 13" MBP so the OS and the actual computer can handle the full 6 or 8GB. Figured I'd ask in the Windows subforum since performance crap like this is discussed more often. :o

    Looks like I'm sticking with 4GB and picking up a X25M to drop in for added speed.
     
  5. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    The x25 will rock your world. They're ridiculously fast.
     
  6. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    OSX + an X25-M is insane. 4GB of ram is plenty for damn near anything still these days.
     
  7. ZCP M3

    ZCP M3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Messages:
    11,999
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    I had the pleasure of playing with 4 X25E's in RAID 0 in my Mac Pro. Shit was almost too fast.

    I have a 60GB OCZ Vertex Turbo but it's not being used in anything. Put it in the MBP but the EFI firmware issues caused it to fuck up so I pulled it out. Was gonna wait for the new 1.41 firmware from OCZ before I put it back in but it's been 3 months & counting since they released it for every SSD version except Turbo. :ugh2:

    So the new plan is to buy a new X25M G2 now that most of the bugs are worked out, throw that in my laptop and once that Vertex Turbo firmware releases, buy a second one and run them in RAID 0 in my Mac Pro, replacing my single Velociraptor as the OS drive.
     
  8. ZCP M3

    ZCP M3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Messages:
    11,999
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    Damn near anything unfortunately doesn't cover running ProEngineer analyses and MATLAB simulations in a Win7 VM with 2GB of RAM. :hsd: But since 4GB SODIMMs are so expensive I'll just improve the overall speed by making the pagefiles just as fast. :coold:
     

Share This Page