C# - simple problem with methods and classes

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by KingNothing, Jun 5, 2003.

  1. KingNothing

    KingNothing New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2002
    Messages:
    11,729
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta & Auburn
    I have two classes:

    • Form1.cs
      server.cs

    Form1.cs contains info about the GUI, and, in particular, a text box named textBox1.

    I need to somehow be able to call Form1.textBox1.Text from server.cs.

    I tried creating a static method in Form1.cs that took a string as a parameter, but I received a compile error saying that basically I could not access non-static data from a static method.

    How do I go about doing that?
     
  2. CompiledMonkey

    CompiledMonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    When you call the method in server.cs, have it return a string. Whatever is returned can then be set as the text for your textbox in Form1.cs. ;)
     
  3. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    or you can change the modifier of the textbox from "private" to "public". Then you can call the name of your class Form1.textBox1.Text = "blah blah";
     
  4. KingNothing

    KingNothing New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2002
    Messages:
    11,729
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta & Auburn
    Oh, of course. Thanks. :)
     
  5. CompiledMonkey

    CompiledMonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    You really should keep your local variables private though.
     
  6. KingNothing

    KingNothing New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2002
    Messages:
    11,729
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta & Auburn
    Ok, I just realized why having the method in server.cs return a value won't work...

    I need to be able to run the method in server.cs and cause the text box in form1.cs to update when it is run.
     
  7. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    :mb: :big grin:
     
  8. CompiledMonkey

    CompiledMonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    :rofl:

    You know it's true. :o
     

Share This Page