Buying prebuilt computers off Newegg?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Ghostrider4450, Feb 9, 2008.

  1. Ghostrider4450

    Ghostrider4450 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Messages:
    12,583
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Out of my mind, brb never.
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    I wouldn't.
     
  3. Ghostrider4450

    Ghostrider4450 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Messages:
    12,583
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Out of my mind, brb never.
    Talk to me. Why wouldnt you? If you dont want to go through the process of building a computer, what would you do to get one?
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Well for me, I would build my own. If you really couldn't do that, then I would go to a local shop and have them do it for you.
     
  5. Ghostrider4450

    Ghostrider4450 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Messages:
    12,583
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Out of my mind, brb never.
    I can build my own computer. I have built two in the last 4 years. I just know how much time I spent doing it, and how much trouble it was to get them working properly. I just don't have the time to dick around with it like I did back then. If I buy/build a new computer I would probably get Vista too, which is a handful all by itself to get working right.
     
  6. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    If you get the right components, then it's a breeze... And part of that is going with an INTEL mobo.

    however, if you don't want to do it... then bring the business to a reputable small local shop.
     
  7. Ghostrider4450

    Ghostrider4450 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Messages:
    12,583
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Out of my mind, brb never.
    With the last rig I built, I used an ASUS mobo. So that probably has a lot to do with it.

    Okay so if I wanted a rig that could run a game like Crysis on medium-high settings, what components would be best.

    So far I know I would get:
    8800GT/GTS 512mb minimum
    minimum 2-3 gigs of ram
    minimum 2.4ghz dual core CPU

    I have a good Antec case, PNY 1GB RAM stick and 20x DVD/CD ROM drive which I would scavenge. The rest is up in the air right now.

    I would also want to get a 24" LCD monitor. So what kind/manufacture would be best, and where to get it?
     
  8. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Don't scavenge the ram... Start fresh with that and keep it all the same in terms of brand and timings.

    what's your budget?

    I generally stick with BenQ and Samsung LCDs but sometimes you'll find good deals elsewhere.
     
  9. Ghostrider4450

    Ghostrider4450 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Messages:
    12,583
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Out of my mind, brb never.
    For both the rig and the monitor id like to stay under 1200 if I can.
     
  10. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    That company uses cheap Corsair Value Select ram.
    The P5KPL-VM mobo is a G31 micro ATX.
    Generic PSU.
    Probably a maxtor hdd and generic optical drives.

    You think all that is worth $1K+?

    You can go to their site and select quality brand parts but they'll charge you higher. :greddy:
     
  11. Ghostrider4450

    Ghostrider4450 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Messages:
    12,583
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Out of my mind, brb never.
    Since I am familiar with overclocking, would water cooling be a smart or stupid route? I know you can OC on air, but water cooling has the advantage of being near silent (if you get a good pump) and has better heat removing properties.
     
  12. Ghostrider4450

    Ghostrider4450 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Messages:
    12,583
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Out of my mind, brb never.
    Its really not worth it, im just dreading the whole find the problem in the haystack aspect of building a new rig. Last time I had a lot of trouble getting everything to jive right.
     
  13. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Yes, it can be silent and has other advantages.
    The problem though is that I don't think you can fit a good setup on that $1,200 budget. Those cheap water cooling kits are junk.

    Most of those problems can be avoided or minimized if you do research.
    But of course, if the problem is faulty hardware, you really can't do much but RMA it.

    I got builds that wasn't smooth either, but personally, I'd rather deal with that than rely on shitty customer support if there are problems.
     
  14. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    water cooling would be a stupid route.
     
  15. Ghostrider4450

    Ghostrider4450 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Messages:
    12,583
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Out of my mind, brb never.
    I figured as much. It seems to be a common ricer addon really. Also is the Intel Wolfdale chip any good? I remember reading about it being able to OC to 4Ghz+. Also would it be better to go with dual core rather than quad for gaming? Im under the impression that from a pice point, it just isnt economical to spring for the extra cores when you probably wont get that much performance increase.
     
  16. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    I am not a big gamer -- I do a lot of multitasking and I would go with the quad core in a heartbeat. Right now, however, it's not helping games. In the future that will change -- but don't worry about it for todays system purchase... That's a down-the-road move.

    Given a faster bus and clock speed the dual core will be better for gaming over a quad core of a slower bus/clock. However, given the same bus/clock then get the quad.
     
  17. Ghostrider4450

    Ghostrider4450 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Messages:
    12,583
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Out of my mind, brb never.
    Hows this intel mobo?

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813121060
     
  18. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
  19. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
  20. Ghostrider4450

    Ghostrider4450 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Messages:
    12,583
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Out of my mind, brb never.
    So ASUS isnt that bad then? I mean the one I had was great for overclocking, until it wouldn't post anymore :mamoru:

    Whats great about SP35?
     
  21. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
  22. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    shit happens, any board, any brand
    that intel board had their share of problems too

    P35, X38, and X48 are the latest Intel chipsets
     
  23. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    I don't care for asus except for cheapy boards for office machines. I wouldn't use one, personally.
     
  24. Ghostrider4450

    Ghostrider4450 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Messages:
    12,583
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Out of my mind, brb never.
  25. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    FUCK NO.

    An asus with wifi is a DEATH SENTENCE. I hope you like RMAing boards!
     

Share This Page