GUN Buying from a pawn shop?

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by copperhead035, Dec 29, 2004.

1. copperhead035

copperhead035 New Member

Before I get into my question, I just thought I would do the standard "Hello, I'm a noob" thing.

My name is Mike, I live in Columbus, OH. All that I own right now is an old ruger 10/22 and a Savage Arms over under single shot breakaction. Top barrel is a .22 mag and the bottom is a 20 guage.

Now for my question - I'm looking to buy a 12 guage pump, but I'm a poor college student. Would there be anything bad about buying a gun at a pawn shop? I've been seeing tv commercials for one lately that actually looks to be fairly nice. I've never been in one before, so I'm not totally sure what to expect.

2. Y2kAccord

Y2kAccord Everything happens for reasons I just dont know

From the advice I have heard about buying pistols is to inspect it.. and field strip (which I dont know if you can do with a shotgun), but I suspect you could get a good deal.

3. I have bought guns from pawn shos before. You just have to inspect them pretty good. Take someone who knos about guns with you if you are uncertain about your knowlege. I have got some pretty good deals before.

4. blkgs4

blkgs4 New Member

Buying guns from gun shops is like buying a gun anywhere else, only thing you have to remember is that if you have problems later on down the road they're not gonna fix it for you or take it back. So just examine the gun properly before purchasing it, and of course get the price taken down as much as possible. If you need to know what to look for while looking at a used shotgun just ask.

5. Vermincelli

Vermincelli Banned

just remember that pawn shops have outrageous markup, so don't hesitate to wheel and deal them down. And whatever you do, don't rely on the people at the pawn shop to know anything about firearms, or give you honest replies. Take along someone who knows firearms to inspect it for you.

6. monolith