Buying first mac... any tips?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by GTSlow, Jul 24, 2007.

1. GTSlow

GTSlow New Member

So I am very very impressed with the fit and finish of the macbooks, and since I am not going to be playing any games on my laptop and I have been putting off learning Macs for a few years I think I am going to go out and buy one.

I was pretty much planning to go for the base model macbook (2ghz, 1 gig memory, etc) and then get the free ipod nano and sell my ipod mini.

The question I have for all you mac guys is if I should wait until OS 10.5 releases and get my macbook then when it comes preinstalled, and pricewise what apple does for OS upgrades. It seems like there are a lot of updates of OS X. Are these free like windows update?

Either way, I will buy a macbook in the next few months. Should I wait, or just go out and buy soon?

Thanks

2. Ariez

Ariez OT Supporter

If you want to wait till october then wait. If not then just get a macbook now and "upgrade" it later on for a decent price of "$0 USD".

IMO you should never wait on buying a computer, because every month something newer, better, and faster will come out. You will be playing the waiting game for years before you will pull the trigger.

3. Ariez

Ariez OT Supporter

O and i probably get flamed for this, but I think Applecare is a ripoff.

You get one year with Apple anyways, if anything wrong with it, fix it for free. After that year is up, your better off fixing it yourself or just selling it off and buying a new product. $280 dollars is not wroth it IMO.

4. skitcy

skitcy uhm title! ok

ehh macs don't get free upgrades? it'll cost him $129 for leopard.

5. Ariez

Ariez OT Supporter

My friend OinK gives out free updates? :dunno:

6. Raider007

Raider007 om nom nom nom

i'll disagree with him...