GUN Buying first hand gun, need advice!

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by monkeywipes, Mar 15, 2008.

1. monkeywipes

monkeywipes New Member

Hey all. I am new to firearms.

So. I'm going to buying a handgun for the first time. I'm having some trouble deciding what exactly to get. I also have a internal argument over caliber. The handgun will be for personal protection and defense, so should I invest in a gun capable of using .357 mag or .45 acp? I've read a few articles and these two seem to be the preferred ammunition for self defense.

The one make and model I've been looking at a lot is the Taurus Millennium .45 ACP.

Some needs of the firearm:
    -Compact frame. The gun will be used in a concealed capacity.
    -Stopping power. I would like to have ample stopping power.
    -Easy cleaning, if possible.
    -Durable.
    -Price range: $250-$500 (Are used guns typically any good?)

Thanks.

2. thedude11

thedude11 New Member

Caliber: 9mm, .40S&W, and .45ACP are all very effective self-defense rounds with modern hollowpoint ammunition. If cost of ammo comes into play for you 9mm is cheapest then .40S&W then .45ACP.

Stopping power: Bigger bullets make bigger holes, and usually make bigger cavities. The .357Mag is an effective round but the downside to it is it's only available in a revolver - thus making the max round count 7 shots. If you want a compact .357Mag, that's going to be pretty hard on your wrist and a compact revolver is typically harder to be accurate with.

My recommendation: go to a gun shop, and fondle as many guns as possible because only you can say what fits and feels best for you. If you can get rental guns that you're interested in, go for that. See if any buddies have guns that you can try out, also.