Buying a MacBook Tomorrow..Any advice?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Seandq, May 26, 2006.

  1. Seandq

    Seandq Usertext for Rent

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    10,279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lake Mary, FL
    Specs:

    Color: White
    13.3-inch widescreen display
    1280 x 800 resolution
    2.0GHz Intel Core Duo
    512MB memory (2x256MB SODIMMs)
    80GB 5400-rpm Serial ATA hard drive
    SuperDrive (DVD±RW, CD-RW)
    Price:$1350 before, $1445 after tax

    The price is pretty much static. I'd prefer not to change it, but if it's necessary, lemme know.

    Anything I should change or alter? Any advice for this future-first-timer?
     
  2. MrBucket

    MrBucket OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    140,213
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Bergen County
    yeah take that ram out and go buy atleast 1gig, 2 would be better
     
  3. Seandq

    Seandq Usertext for Rent

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    10,279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lake Mary, FL
    Yeah, I edited in something about the price. I intend on using the MacBook for casual web browsing and viewing OT and a video here and there, nothing intense. Is it really necessary I upgrade the RAM (Seeing as the minimum upgrade's $500)
     
  4. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
    get the black one :bigthumb: :o
     
  5. Seandq

    Seandq Usertext for Rent

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    10,279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lake Mary, FL
    Yeah, I would, but again..the budget's static. If I had another $100 lying around, I'd go black.
     
  6. Seandq

    Seandq Usertext for Rent

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    10,279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lake Mary, FL
    After talking it over with a few Mac users I trust and my parents, I'm staying with 512MB but I'm definitely going to upgrade if I need it.
     
  7. emorphien

    emorphien New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    Get it with as little RAM as possible from Apple and upgrade it yourself. A gig of ram won't run you more than $130 and two gigs won't be but twice that.

    I personally don't care for the performance of an OSX or Windows XP machine with less than 1gb of RAM.
     
  8. Raimeiken

    Raimeiken OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    18,708
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    ARIZONA
    yeah just buy RAM somewhere else, its much much cheaper
     
  9. cftofu2k

    cftofu2k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Messages:
    2,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    im getting the same thing this weekend, except i intended to get 1gb of ram. is it hard to upgrade it yourself? (my first mac, but i upgrade pc hardware all the time)

    oh, if you have a student id, use it. im an alumni, and they never questioned me. :)

    its like $100 off. or find a student to buy it for you.
     
  10. emorphien

    emorphien New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    Haven't upgraded RAM on a macbook, but in general upgrading it on an Apple laptop is no harder and in fact easier than some PC laptops. My Thinkpad was a PITA but fortunately that's not something you do but once.
     
  11. cftofu2k

    cftofu2k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Messages:
    2,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    okay. so there are two slots, with the stock 512 taking up one slot? if so, ill just add another 1gb myself. seems like the most affordable approach, since i know i need atleast 1gb.
     
  12. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    you shouldn't be running any machine these days without at least 1gb. you'll thank us later.
     
  13. Seandq

    Seandq Usertext for Rent

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    10,279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lake Mary, FL
    Well, as I said, due to budget constraints, I'll run 512MB first. My ideology is "Buy first, upgrade later" so with something as easily upgradeable as RAM, I'll upgrade to 1GB when I get the spare cash.
     
  14. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
    sounds good. this is what i'll be doing shortly, just gonna get a basic 2.0 white and buy 2*1gig ram, 7200rpm HD, and an external drive elsewhere. :coold:
     
  15. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    funny, my ideology is do it right the first time...:wavey:
     
  16. robwormald

    robwormald New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    33,035
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATX
    im running 512 in mine now, its def faster than my PB but i miss the 1.25GB i had in it.

    if you're going to upgrade, keep the slots matched - IE, either 256x2 (stock), 512x2 or 1gb x 2 - helps the GPU perform better

    my crucial ram should be here tuesday :x:
     
  17. Madness

    Madness Do not let Dr. Mario touch your genitals. He is no

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    37,904
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Save yourself $95 bucks and order it online.. then add in the student discount for another $100. Use cash for more ram from newegg or zipzoomfly.
     
  18. robwormald

    robwormald New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    33,035
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATX
    not necessary for powerbooks.
     
  19. the slowness

    the slowness OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin:drama:
    crucial's pretty good...Ive used the on mah dell:mamoru: and the PB.
     
  20. DjShiznit

    DjShiznit Representing Deutschland, yah.

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,963
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    PNW
    Might be a good idea to get the apple care
     
  21. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    512 megs in OS X is miserable if you ever multitask. Like run firefox or safari and ANYTHING else. OS X is designed for more memory than that. Go ahead and get it from Apple now. That way if anything goes wrong you just take it to the apple store and its all under warranty.
     
  22. bonarparte

    bonarparte beeeeh

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    32,812
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    Max out that memory.
     
  23. Seandq

    Seandq Usertext for Rent

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    10,279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lake Mary, FL
    After all that, I decided to drop the SuperDrive and go to 1.83 GHZ drive, for financial reasons, and that also meant I can upgrade my RAM, so I upgraded for $100 more. It seemed like a good deal and I just want the process to be over with. It should ship by Friday.
     
  24. manchild

    manchild OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    11,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago
    No, its 2x256MB.

    Its all dual chanel, so get the stock and buy either 2x512MB or 2x1GB

    This is what I'm going to be getting whenever I get arround to getting a macbook (still about a 1,000 bucks short, hope the summer job will cover it).
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820231069

    someone else posted the link on here, idk how it works but it looks legit :dunno:
     
  25. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
    holy shit, according to most user reviews it looks like this ram works with the MB's no probelm :eek5:
     

Share This Page