Buying a laptop overseas?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by 0001, Aug 20, 2003.

  1. 0001

    0001 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canadeh.
    A friend of mine just asked me a question about buying a laptop from located in Italy. Dell Inspiron 5150. I'm just wondering if you could run it here, given the difference in electrical systems etc (120v-220v). Any input? Anything else to watch out for?

    Thanks
     
  2. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Some power supplies have a switch to change between 120V/240V, or if it doesn't have that, you'll just need a transformer that plugs into a North American socket and accepts a European socket.
     
  3. Zourn

    Zourn 16-bit Ninja OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    I had one of those little original Pocket PC's that was european, got it for free, gave it away because it was basically a phonebook with a nice shell. Not even a color screen. It had one of those big two-round plug things and all i did was use an adapter for the US plug, no transformer, and it worked fine.
     
  4. BlazinBlazer Guy

    BlazinBlazer Guy Witness to The De-Evolution of Mankind.

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    18,783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lansing, MI USA
    a co-worker of mine just brought back a digital camera from japan of a model that isn't issued over here yet... it seems to work fine with the electrical system here (infact I don't think he even has an adapter for it)
     
  5. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    That adapter may have been a transformer. It's also possible that with something like a laptop you could buy a North American AC power cord thingy from Dell. That's the only thing that would be different between the NA and Euro model.
     
  6. Zourn

    Zourn 16-bit Ninja OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Is this big enough to have a transformer in it? The euro plugs go all the way to the opposite end of the grey part.


    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  7. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Hm, doesn't look like it. I guess whatever he's plugging into it can handle the NA voltage.
     
  8. Marcos

    Marcos OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    38,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Great Britain

    Im buying a laptop from italy too....hmmm...dodgy

    Seller named Samuel?
     

Share This Page