burning 360/wii games

Discussion in 'Gamers' Pulse' started by chasedeez, Jun 14, 2009.

  1. chasedeez

    chasedeez your mom OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    georgia
    can i use my regular aptop dvd burner or do i have to have a special one?
     
  2. juryben

    juryben New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,583
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
  3. Jonathan77

    Jonathan77 Dreamer, Nostalgic with the state of mind

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,437
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atl, Ga
    360 games must be burned on DVD+R DL media. Buy Verbatims. Someone correct me if i'm wrong but for Wii games I believe SSBB is the only DVD9 which requires DL media unless you get the scrubbed version in which case you can use a DVD+R. I forgot but can 360 games be scrubbed to fit on a DVD5?
     
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2009
  4. sony

    sony Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    112,723
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    yea you can
     
  5. FunkyMunniez

    FunkyMunniez Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    17,920
    Likes Received:
    2
    youre response was so helpful to the threadstarter. thank you for your infinite wisdom :bowdown:
     
  6. sony

    sony Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    112,723
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    to be fair, yours was equally as helpful :)
     
  7. FunkyMunniez

    FunkyMunniez Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    17,920
    Likes Received:
    2
    difference is though someone had already answered the question by the time i posted. i realize the irony :rofl:

    and to be honest i didn't know either.
     
  8. Twinsen

    Twinsen OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    55,699
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    XBox 360 - Verbatim DVD +DL
    Wii - Verbatim DVD-R
     
  9. teh_1337n3ss

    teh_1337n3ss Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    4,096
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATX/Houston
    regular burner is fine. Use Verbatim DVD+R DL for 360 games (the ones made in singapore to ensure maximum compatibility), and Verbatim or Sony DVD+R's for Wii games. The only Wii game that requires a DL is SSBB as someone mentioned above, but the brand of media you use for that game varies with each Wii. Verbatim and Sony DVD+R DL didn't work at all for me, but then I tried Memorex DVD+r DL, and it worked like a charm.
     
  10. Twinsen

    Twinsen OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    55,699
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    I've had nothing but trouble with anything +R for the Wii. -R is the way to go in my experience.
     
  11. chasedeez

    chasedeez your mom OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    georgia
    i already knew what to burn them on. its that every time i try to burn the .iso it doesnt actually burn. i burned a windows xp .iso earlier and it burned fine. I havent tried to burn a 360 game yet i got to wait for it to finish downloading. img said the wii game burned fine and everything but nothing actually on the disk
     
  12. rawr

    rawr Trick Or Treat OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    7,040
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    D F DUB
    use imgburn
    360 games youre supose to burn the .dvd
     
  13. Jonathan77

    Jonathan77 Dreamer, Nostalgic with the state of mind

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,437
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atl, Ga
    If you're using IMGburn, do not forget to set the Layerbreak to 1913760 for burning the 360 games. If you need tutorials about the burning/stealth process, tons of tutorials to be found at http://xbox360iso.com/. Check it out :bigthumb:
     
  14. Twinsen

    Twinsen OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    55,699
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Try -R for the DVDs for the Wii.
     
  15. OFI

    OFI New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    52,607
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wet Wales
    Cliffs on burning Wii games. Can you just install a Homebrew app to play them?
    Got my games all running perfectly from a USB drive but 16GB doesn't last long :hs: do burnt games run like shit with softmod?
     
  16. chasedeez

    chasedeez your mom OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    georgia
    so i burnt the 360 game and it shows up as play PES 2009 but when i start it it says the game is the wrong region. did i mess the burn up or did i just download the wrong version of the game
     
  17. chasedeez

    chasedeez your mom OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    georgia
    never mind answered my own question it was the wrong region
     
  18. chasedeez

    chasedeez your mom OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    georgia
    does that mean it worked though
     
  19. Jonathan77

    Jonathan77 Dreamer, Nostalgic with the state of mind

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,437
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atl, Ga
    Yes it means it worked. As for your region protection problem I recall a way to get around it but i haven't been keeping up. I'll look for it later but if you don't want to wait for the information, go to gbatemp.net and go the wii hacks subforum for a ton of information regarding whatever it is you need to get things rolling.


    OFI you should check out gbatemp.net as well. A WEALTH of information on that website dedicated to questions regarding Wii softmod hacks
     
  20. Twinsen

    Twinsen OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    55,699
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    He's talking about the 360. ;)

    Wii isn't Region Locked. 360 is. Supposedly there's a way to get around that though for the 360, but haven't bothered to care figuring it out.
     
  21. Jonathan77

    Jonathan77 Dreamer, Nostalgic with the state of mind

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,437
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atl, Ga


    Jeez I need to read up on Wii news then. Stopped reading about hacks and shit like two months ago. Question, from what I understand two months ago, wasn't the Wii region locked but could be bypassed through Preloader or some wad?
     
  22. Twinsen

    Twinsen OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    55,699
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Technically, the Wii IS Region Locked. But at least with SoftModding, Region doesn't matter. Not sure if its the same with HardModding. But if you use GammaLoader, it auto-detects and plays any Region.
     
  23. OFI

    OFI New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    52,607
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wet Wales
    I'm using USB Loader GX which seems to work well and looks good. It will play any region but apparently I need to block any other region ISOs from running any built in autoupdates as it will brick it.

    Fuck that i'm just downloading PALs
     

Share This Page