Built a new rig - keeps shutting itself off

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by SlickStick, Oct 30, 2006.

  1. SlickStick

    SlickStick New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    21,858
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    I've built a few rigs in the past and never had any problems until now. This comp will shut itself off during various phases of startup... either before windows boots or sometimes after the desktop is mostly loaded already. Sometimes I also get an "overclocking error" but when I check bios it all seems to be on auto/standard so I'm not sure why it believes to be overclocking.

    My guess is overheating but the heatsink seems on good and I used thermal paste so I don't know... tried with case side open and fan blowing on as well. Temp gauges read low 30sF so seems normal.

    This is an Intel Pentium D 805+ and Asus P5LD2 Mobo... Aspire case came with 500w P/S. Thanks for tips fellas.
     
  2. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Any beeps on startup?
     
  3. SlickStick

    SlickStick New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    21,858
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    single beep
     
  4. foobar

    foobar New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Below 30F? that's impressive. almost hard to believe.

    It could a few things. Try to eliminate a few problems. Use memtest86 and check out the ram. If the ram is working fine then we know the problem is either with the CPU or with a component on the motherboard. There are ways to eliminate those possibilities as well (for instance plugging out optional cards etc)
     
  5. SlickStick

    SlickStick New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    21,858
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Read again, low 30F...hovers around 32-34. Running memtest86 now.
     
  6. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    You can try going to the manufacturer of your mobo's website, and look up what the single beep means in the documentation. Could be helpful. :dunno:
     
  7. SlickStick

    SlickStick New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    21,858
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    one beep = keyboard controller error, refresh time error, no master drive detected

    we've already installed windows and its worked for a couple weeks so I don't see how it could be master drive detection, and the keyboard works.. Refresh error I don't understand nor why it believes to be overclocking...


    Still working on memtest86 I can't get it to boot the freakin CD
     
  8. SlickStick

    SlickStick New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    21,858
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Finally got memtest to run and the damn CPU shut off in the middle of it :mad:
     
  9. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I'm confused about the 30f. Are you sure you don't mean 30c?

    30f would take some badass phase change, or Peltier cooling.
     
  10. SlickStick

    SlickStick New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    21,858
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    yes, 30-34c obviously... Dealing with this shit has fried my brain :o

    tried memory one stick at a time - same problem with both single sticks
     
  11. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I just wanted to clarify that, because if you were running Peltier cooling say, it would mean the psu was taxed a lot harder.
     
  12. SlickStick

    SlickStick New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    21,858
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    no sir, regular fan cooling.
     
  13. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Did you try to use a different keyboard?

    Who knows, even though it seems to work it could still cause trouble.
     
  14. SlickStick

    SlickStick New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    21,858
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    no...it's been working for weeks. I'm no l337 but I don't see a working keyboard randomly causing the computer to shut down.
     
  15. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio

    Has the computer been running normally at all?
     
  16. SlickStick

    SlickStick New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    21,858
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Yes until yesterday when it started shutting itself off.
     
  17. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I've got to head out in a minute, but if the computer hasn't been running
    normally, it could be the keyboard or power supply.

    If it has been running normally even a little, but just shuts off a lot,
    then I would look at the power supply.
     
  18. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ah, ok then.

    If you have a test meter, check out the psu.

    It's fairly easy to do, just google it and you should find a ton of hits.


    I'm out.
     
  19. crazybenf

    crazybenf Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    15,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Is it restarting or shutting off completely?


    It sounds like the power supply.. and yes, a keyboard can cause random reboot problems. I've seen it. :o
     
  20. SlickStick

    SlickStick New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    21,858
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Shutting off completely.

    Just tried booting up with keyboard unplugged (no keyboard) and the SOB still shut off.
     
  21. themolsen

    themolsen New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Messages:
    7,414
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    my vote goes to the power supply
     
  22. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    It could also be a very slight defect in the CPU or motherboard that didn't show up until the whole thing got heated and cooled a few times. It's more common than you may think.
     
  23. SlickStick

    SlickStick New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    21,858
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    The ASUS people are saying either ram, processor, or mobo touching the case :hsugh:

    I know its not ram and I have posts in so I think you might be right. At this point I'm thinking about sending back the processor to Intel and if I was wrong then they'll just send it back saying it is ok :dunno:
     
  24. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Send the motherboard back first. It's less likely to get damaged in shipping if it was fine to begin with.
     
  25. ive had the same problem with my p4p800 (including the raid error)... but i dunno if its the mobo...

    for me it was all about heat.. even if my comps case was cold, certain parts were very hot... i just leave my pc close to the winodw with one door open

    maybe you need a larger power supply?
     

Share This Page