Building PC, HELP

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by choiman012, Jan 13, 2008.

  1. choiman012

    choiman012 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I recently decided that I would build my own PC.
    So I went on NewEgg.com and bought all the necessary materials needed.

    I got a:
    Centurion Cool Master Case
    EVGA 256-P2-N615-TX GeForce 7600GT Video Card
    GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard
    Intel Core 2 Duo E6550 Conroe 2.33GHz Processor
    G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Memory
    APEVIA ATX-CW500WP4 ATX 500W Power Supply
    Western Digital 160GB 5400RPM Hard Drive (from my old computer)

    I hooked everything up just like the manuals have told me to do.
    When I turn my machine all of the fans start running and everything seems to be running fine, however, there is no video coming from my monitor.
    I thought that it was a defective video card but I got it replaced and the same problem occurs.
    Other things I have done are resetting my CMOS and removing the battery then putting it back.

    If anyone has had this problem or has any suggestions on how to fix this please tell me.

    Thanks
     
  2. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    recheck all connections, remove and reinstall vid card and ram
    if that didn't work, try 1 stick of ram only
     
  3. GooeyGus

    GooeyGus I has Laz0rz.

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Marysville, WA
    Also, It could be a bad PCIe slot on the mobo.

    Do you hear the hard drives boot up? If so, try unplugging the 4-pin power (the one all by itself, for the processor) on the motherboard and turn it back on. This time you should hear no clicking or anything from the hard drives. This tells you that the basic startup functions of the cpu are working (because the hard drives boot when the cpu has power, and shouldn't when it doesn't) and can help rule it out as a suspect.

    When I had a similar problem this is how I troubleshot it, because I knew it was the CPU or the mobo. RMA'd the mobo and all was well again :bigthumb:

    EDIT: Oh yea, I was also going to say, try putting the ram in the other slots.
     
  4. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Have you tried a different monitor cable?

    How about the monitor itself, does it work on another pc?
     
  5. choiman012

    choiman012 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    i just checked and the monitor works
     
  6. Yuppy

    Yuppy Have a seat right there....

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    12,589
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    THE Hawkeye Nation
    you have to check every cable, including the ones you dont expect, like the sata ones to your HDDs or even the 24 pin connector, or the 6 pin connectors on your VC.
     
  7. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you're trying to use a DVI connection to your screen, switch to the VGA connection instead and see if that behaves better.
     
  8. Barky

    Barky woof

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn University
    Are there any kinds of beeps coming from the machine when you boot up? there should be if the processor is powered and it isn't completely messed up.

    make sure you have the 4 pin connector connected to the mobo for processor power, I had this problem once and I'm an experienced builder (holy crap did I freak) :o.
     
  9. samonkahonk

    samonkahonk New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    3,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    415
    oh god i just had this problem while buidling my computer.

    turns out either my motherboard was defective or just incompatible with my cpu. bought a new motherboard and everything worked fine.
     
  10. Stilgar1973

    Stilgar1973 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    8,533
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is this a video card that supports dual monitors?
    If so try plugging the monitor into the other slot.
    Does the mobo have that new fangled video on mobo?
    If so plug the monitor into the mobo and read your manual for instructions on telling the mobo that you want it to throw video signals to the video card and not the mobo.

    You should be able to get a video signal with 1 stick of ram, the CPU and the video card (no hard drives, no DVD drives, no floppy, no keyboard or mouse).
    Start like that and see if you are getting a video signal.
    If you are not try a different stick of ram and check that you have it in the 1st ram slot.
    If you still don't get a signal it is likely the mobo is faulty.
     
  11. BlackWRX

    BlackWRX New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    25,574
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    Might be the 12v connector. The little 2x2 one.
     
  12. Stilgar1973

    Stilgar1973 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    8,533
    Likes Received:
    0
    That is a possibility.
    My old ATI 9800 AIW card had the mini-molex plug, that is 12 v. If you forgot to plug it in it would just beep at you. I think you got an error message during POST.
    I had another card that used a molex plug (also 12 v), I think that was an NVIDIA card. That card would only choke up when it tried to run 3d games. With the 12v plug not plugged in you could do desktop stuff, but try to run a game and bad stuff happened.

    I don't think there is any rhyme or rule to what video cards do if they don't get the necessary juice from those plugs.
     
  13. choiman012

    choiman012 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've tried pretty much everything and nothing has helped. I think I need to return the motherboard or something.
     
  14. BlackWRX

    BlackWRX New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    25,574
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    I was actually referring to the motherboard. That gigabyte MB is the same one i have and the 2x2 12v was kinda hard to see.
     
  15. BlackWRX

    BlackWRX New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    25,574
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    can you take a picture of the inside?
     

Share This Page