Building comp

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by mooredodge, Feb 8, 2005.

1. mooredodge

mooredodge 3,2,1 I'm the bomb...and I'm ready to go off in yo

I'm thinking about building a comp, which I've never done before. I've switched components and such, but never built one from the ground up. My question has to do with cables. Generally, when you buy components, do they come with the cables you'll need? I know I'll need the IDE cables, but what about everything else? Just wanting to order everything all at once, so I don't realize I forgot something and have to wait on another order. Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.

2. Gaylord Focker

Gaylord Focker 8=oOOo=D ~ ~ ~

Generally your motherboard will come with the IDE cables. Other than those I can't think of any other cables that you would need to buy.

3. Juvenall

Juvenall What Would Juvie Do?

Yeah, it's been my experence that *most* hardware you buy will come with all the cables you'll need and often, more.

4. Goonigoogoo

Goonigoogoo Active Member

:werd:

Even if you need more IDE cables for any reason they are dirt cheap these days.

5. Slid.

Slid. I'm a guy.

If you buy OEM parts they generally do not come with cables, a motherboard setup usually only comes with one ide cable.

6. dijital

dijital New Member

depends on the number of IDE channels on the board. if you have 2 channels, they'll give you two. if you have 4 SATA channels, they will give you 4 cables. you usually get all the cables you need as long as you buy retail products, not their OEM counterparts.

7. mooredodge

mooredodge 3,2,1 I'm the bomb...and I'm ready to go off in yo

Ok thanks for the help everyone. The only reason I mentioned the IDE was I usually buy the rounded ones, since they're a dirt cheap mod, and the last mobo I installed for a friend (an ASUS) didn't come with any IDE cables. I'll let everyone know how it turns out once I order everything and get it together. :bigthumb:

8. SEPHROTH64

SEPHROTH64 Guest