Building A Server

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by mrmegabyte, Sep 12, 2008.

  1. mrmegabyte

    mrmegabyte New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have extra parts now for an extra computer and wanted to make a server out of it so i can do a file server, Dev Server - SQL, ASP.net ect. then when at Lans Can possibly be used for a Dedicated Gammig RIG.

    The computer as it is now has

    AMD X2 2.0GHz
    2 - 4 GB memory
    4 x 320 Raid 5 - Data
    1 x 160 for OS
    DVD Rom

    Should I just use strictly as a FS or do VM ware and do all i want, a server for each?

    Or any other thoughts and opinons?
     
  2. glamdering

    glamdering New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York State

    for FS get your hands on a older computer and put Linux on it FS doesn't require that much just like max out the ram on a old computer can work wonders for a simple FS some times...in less your looking at making a high performence FS
     
  3. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Grab a Dell Precision workstation off eBay and put Windows Server or Linux on it. Those machines will run reliably for years with no maintenance at all.

    I definitely recommend using VMware to keep those tasks separate from each other, but if you're going to do that well you'll need AMD Athlon64 or Intel Core at least, because older CPUs don't have the extra commands that make VMs run faster.
     
  4. mrmegabyte

    mrmegabyte New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0

    Thanks,

    I just wanted to use it to keep my 600+ gigs off my main PC....so...nothing too powerful.

    :)

    Thanks
     
  5. mrmegabyte

    mrmegabyte New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    I do also have a 939 Mobo and processor.....what do you think about that one....i do think that one does have Raid Capabilities....hmmm....
     
  6. glamdering

    glamdering New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York State
    you could always have gotten a external HDD for that LOL they have come way down in price
     
  7. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you set up a RAID, you should either use software RAID (which is slow in Windows, not so slow in Linux) or buy a PCI RAID controller. If you use the onboard RAID controller, you'll get all of the slowness of software RAID (because it will use the main CPU for its calculations) plus none of the modularity of offboard RAID -- at least if the offboard RAID controller dies, you can replace it without trashing the motherboard, and you're a lot more likely to be able to find a spare controller compatible with your array if it's not tied to a specific model of motherboard.

    Does that make sense?
     
  8. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Be that as it may, if you do anything more than just fileserving, you'll want more than one CPU. Besides, it's kinda pimp to be able to run [email protected] 24/7.
     
  9. glamdering

    glamdering New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York State
    i would make them both into servers and dedicate them to separate things to maximize your speed ;)
     
  10. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Flexibility > speed, in my book. VMs give you flexibility like nothing else.
     

Share This Page