GUN Building a range on my property... need answers

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Admitted, May 3, 2008.

1. Admitted

Admitted I shouldn't be on OT right now.

I was looking to build a 35 yard range. How thick and tall should the berm be? :x:

This is for my personal use only, any other things to consider?

2. idleprocess

idleprocess Bring a dollar with you baby in the cold cold grou

I am not an expert on these matters, so if someone has any better advice, feel free to step in.

I'm assuming you've done some preliminary investigation into this? Not a problem in your municipality/county? Your proposed range/backstop location isn't going to prove troublesome in some way (no busy highway/school/zoo behind it)? I hope you're a good ways distant from any neighbors of any sort that might complain in any way.

Backstop height/depth would depend on a number of factors such as fill material in your backstop, what you're shooting, and the lay of the land (ie, what's behind the backstop). If you're going to be shooting .22LR exclusively, you probably won't need so much of a backstop as if you plan on going full-auto with an M2 every other day of the week. It's not practical to build a backstop to catch 100% of the rounds fired, but it needs to catch 100% of the rounds that strike the target and as much idiot-proofing as you can build into it. Someone other than you might use it someday and experience some muzzle climb getting stupid with an AR. You might experience a ND with the gun angled up by ten degrees.

If your range is on a high spot with clear view of the horizon over the backstop, you're going to need it to be higher than if your backstop is in a lower spot with uninhabited land behind it that you own or know to be mostly unused.