building a PC

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by gino85, Aug 2, 2008.

  1. gino85

    gino85 fuck your honda civic, i've a horse outside

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sligo, Ireland
    what processor would you recommend me to go with an ASUS M2N32 ws professional motherboard, the main use of the pc will be for gameing, ive got a graphics card from my old pc which just recently craped out on me so i will be salvaging shit from that but the main thing i need is a processor and i have no clue what to go for

    tnx in advance to those who help
     
  2. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
  3. gino85

    gino85 fuck your honda civic, i've a horse outside

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sligo, Ireland
  4. Ameter

    Ameter Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    97,795
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    you got it backwards

    first pick the CPU, THEN pick the corresponding motherboard
     
  5. gino85

    gino85 fuck your honda civic, i've a horse outside

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sligo, Ireland
    didnt get a chance to pick, it was given to me for free so i thought id make the most of it
     
  6. Ameter

    Ameter Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    97,795
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    how old is it?
     
  7. Ameter

    Ameter Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    97,795
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
  8. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    wut? any current AM2 chip will work with that mobo
     
  9. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    currently, yes imo.

    AMD Phenoms are better chips, but they don't work well with that board.

    Also,... AMD has stopped production of their high-end Athlon chips (e.g. 6000+, 6400+, and some).

    They will be replaced by 65nm chips or something. That 5400+ Black Edition is one of the first replacements (It replaced the 5000+ BE). There are rumors of a 5600+ BE, 5800+ BE, or 6000+ BE, which would be better. But they are not out yet, or maybe they are just rumors since AMD is silent about it.

    Newegg is still selling the 90nm 6000+, but you'd be better off with the 5800+ Brisbane (not BE).
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103274

    The reason I picked the 5400+ BE over the 5800+ is that the BE has an unlocked multiplier and can be easily overclocked to the same speed as the 5800+ or more.
    If you don't oc,... get the 5800+ or wait for the other replacements. :dunno:

    note: Black Editions doesn't come with a cooler.
    That 5800+ at newegg is OEM, cpu only,... so it also doesn't come with a cooler.
     
  10. gino85

    gino85 fuck your honda civic, i've a horse outside

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sligo, Ireland
    dude thank you

    il be ordering it on tuesday

    im also guessing i should get http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835185125 to go with it

    oh and do they send thier stuff out internationally?
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2008
  11. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    my bad, didn't notice you were from Ireland :o

    newegg is USA only, sorry
    i believe tigerdirect.com ships overseas
    try www.misco.co.uk

    not sure if the new replacements are available in the uk yet.
    at least you get an idea what chips to find.
    remember,... you need an AM2 cpu
    Athlon X2 5000+ and above (up to 6400+)
    Black Editions (BE) have unlocked multipliers, no cooler included
    not AMD Phenoms
     

Share This Page