Building a new computer

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Bigsnake, May 30, 2007.

  1. Bigsnake

    Bigsnake OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    34,557
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Baton Rouge
    It's been a long time since I've done this and I'm not sure what's worth getting now days.

    I think I'll be upgrading the following
    -case
    -PSU
    -mobo
    -cpu
    -ram
    -video card
    -harddrive (adding more)

    Already have a good monitor and I'll just reused my CD drive and DVD drive.

    I think I'll go with a Lian Li case because I've always wanted one.

    Mainly, need recommendations for a CPU, Mobo, and video card.

    Also, do you think it's worth getting a small raptor harddrive to run my programs off of and then using another harddrive for storage (mp3, videos, etc.)?
     
  2. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    74gb Raptor for the os is the best.

    As far as the rest of it is concerned, what's your budget?

    Depending on your computer needs, this may or may not interest you:
    The last week of July, Intel is supposed to drop the price on the Q6600 quad core, to something like $270.

    If you're not in a hurry, it would be worth the wait.
     
  3. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    CPU: E6420, E6600, or pick any C2D with a 4MB L2 cache.

    Mobo: Intel or Asus, 765 chipset, Intel south bridge

    Video card: 8600, or 8800GTX
     
  4. Bigsnake

    Bigsnake OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    34,557
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Baton Rouge
    What about the 8800 GTS?

    Pretty sure I'll be going with the E6600 and the Asus P5B mobo.

    Not sure on what I want to do with the hard drives yet. I hear the raptors run hot and loud and it would be better to setup a RAID for performance.

    Can you run two different RAIDs off one controller?

    I really want a RAID setup for backing up data, but I want my programs run off something for performance.
     
  5. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    You mean the 965 chipset?
     

Share This Page