Building a computer (help!)

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by jehan60188, Feb 22, 2008.

  1. jehan60188

    jehan60188 New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,509
    Likes Received:
    0
  2. Danno

    Danno Bronx Poodle OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    64,919
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Indiana
    Go with Intel if it's not too late.
     
  3. jehan60188

    jehan60188 New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,509
    Likes Received:
    0
    It isnt. Any particular reason why?
    I was under the impression that AMD is better for gaming (which is a major focus of what I'll be using this computer for)
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    AMD can't hold a candle to Intel since the Core platform was released.

    Core took the flag away from AMD, and Core2 crushed them. AMD doesn't have anything in the visible future to help them. I suspect it will be several years before AMD can put a competitive product back to market.
     
  5. jehan60188

    jehan60188 New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,509
    Likes Received:
    0
    also, how come newegg isn't showing any nvidia cards. doesn't nvidia make cards? or just chipsets?
    also
    ati vs nvidia. which one should i go with?
     
  6. Willey2cool

    Willey2cool New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    8,570
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonds, WA
    nvidia hands down.
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    I have been an nVidia fan since 2004 (was an ATi fan prior to that) and I'm not yet ready to give up on that... But I did just install an ATi card in my personal machine, lol. The output quality is excellent, although the drivers were a pain (was expected).

    Depending on your budget and purpose, you could go either way.
     
  8. jehan60188

    jehan60188 New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,509
    Likes Received:
    0
  9. jehan60188

    jehan60188 New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,509
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok, i've picked out the basic parts. is 850 watts enough for a power supply?
    I guess all I'm missing is thermal paste, and a cpu cooling fan? (good excuse to go to fry's!)
    but yah, all those parts are compatible with each other, right?
     
  10. jehan60188

    jehan60188 New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,509
    Likes Received:
    0
  11. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    stay FAR away from that psu.

    Look at something from Sparkle, Fortron, PC Power & Cooling, Seasonic, OCZ, or Silverstone.

    Get an Intel P35 mobo, because you're not really gonna see any benefit with the X38 -- especially with only a E6600.

    Don't bother with an Asus mobo unless you like downtime and your UPS man... You're gonna end up having to RMA it. If you want something reliable, get Intel. If you want something colorful and want to sacrifice stability, then get an abit.

    XP HOME??? You're stupid if you buy that. Get Vista Home Premium... Or if you have some un-justified hatred for anything modern, then get XP Pro.

    Samsung DVD drive ftmfl. Go LiteOn. They have the best bang-for-the-buck, now.
     
  12. jehan60188

    jehan60188 New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,509
    Likes Received:
    0
  13. Willey2cool

    Willey2cool New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    8,570
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonds, WA
    just get Vista, its not nearly as bad as everyone makes it out too be. it only sucks if you have a comp that isnt very powerful or a few years old. Also this is just my opinion but i always get the OEM versions of the operating systems because theyre about $100 cheaper than the retail ones.
     
  14. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    it's all just a bunch of whiners that didn't spec their systems, properly.

    Given your CPU you're really building a mainstream gaming rig -- and nothing extreme... So I wouldn't worry too much about it. Vista is the future-proof decision.
     
  15. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    lite-on has a 20X drive if you want... Nothing wrong with the 16x, tho, if that's what you want.

    that memory is cas4, which is good okay. However, if you're confident you're not going to increase beyond 4gb, then you'd be better served by 4x1GB sticks. I recommend Corsair XMS, but crucial, OCZ, and Mushkin are good. Make sure it's cas4 or better on the latency. I would also recommend going to a 667MHz fsb memory.
     
  16. skinjob

    skinjob Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aztlán
    Intel E6750 has a few more MHz for $40 less.
    The Intel E8400 @3GHz is supposed to retail for <$200, but most sellers are gouging in the $240-250 range due to demand.
    If you're interested in gaming, the 8800GT is still a better gaming card for $10-$20 more.
     
  17. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    if he does decide to do that then he def needs to swap out the memory due to the 1333MHz FSB of the E6750
     
  18. jehan60188

    jehan60188 New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,509
    Likes Received:
    0
    as far as video cards go, it looks like i'm gonna have to go with the 8800 (the motherboard i've selected doesn't have pci-express 2.0 x 16, so i can't use the card i had originally. but it does have a pci express x16 slot- which is what the 8800 is!)
    i'm going with vista home premium "for system builders"

    also, it looks like we've managed to bring the price down! way to go everyone! should i spend it on getting a power supply with a rating higher than 500 watts?

    and great find on the 6750! is the higher/different "FSB" value going to cause problems with any of my other selections?

    I think i'll stick with two sticks, because ram was one of the things I actually did change on this computer (5 year old dell laptop)

    relink:
    https://secure.newegg.com/NewVersio...p?WishListNumber=5688105&WishListTitle=rig_01
     
  19. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    you NEED to swap out the memory. You need something with at least a 667MHz FSB to support that CPU properly (1333MHz FSB). Also, keep CAS4 or lower on the timings.


    PSU is fine.
     
  20. jehan60188

    jehan60188 New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,509
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh dear
    so, what kind of ram should i go for now?
     
  21. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
  22. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    they do.... you originally selected some memory that was 533MHz... You want 667MHz.
     
  23. skinjob

    skinjob Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aztlán
  24. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    (corsair xms || OCZ || Mushkin) > Crucial > G.Skill
     
  25. jehan60188

    jehan60188 New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,509
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok, so the 4x1 GB sounds good, but don't i need a 64 bit processor to utilize a 64 bit OS?

    also, i changed the graphics card. it's got a lot more MB (500ish instead of 300ish) for onle $10 more
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2008

Share This Page