Building a Computa :(

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by TheRooTy, Jun 17, 2009.

  1. TheRooTy

    TheRooTy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    I want to build a computer so bad but I honestly do not know what to get for anything, for some spots though I do have some idea of parts that I want but I do not know if they will work with other things. This is so far the things that I am interested in, please comment, tell me if something in here is incompatible and what not.

    Mobo: MSI P45 Platinum(do not know if it is SLI Crossfire ready or were the hell network card fits on here)
    HD: Seagate 1.5TB 7200RPM 3GBit/s
    Case: XCLIO Windtunnel
    Proc: It's between the AMD Phenom II 3.0 GHz and a 2.8GHz ( sorry would have the make/model but newegg is retarded and doesn't show all the ones availible so each page refresh is a bunch of different proc)
    Memory: Any Reliable 8Gb worth(yes 8Gb of ram it's cheap as hell right now)
    Optical Drive: Any, Just cheap don't care for blue ray or Light Scribe
    Power Supply: Know nothing about these, just need one that can handle possible Proc overclocking and 24/7 use
    Video: between Saphire Readon HD 4870 and 4890, they both are like exactly the same but the 4890 is around $80 more
    Sound: X-Fi type not sure yet what card
     
  2. cp5184

    cp5184 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm pretty sure the p45 in msi p45 platinum is the intel p45 chipset. if you want to use an amd phenom, you need the appropriate socket, and chipset.

    look on newegg. it will tell you what you need to know.
     
  3. TheRooTy

    TheRooTy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    That's were I get all my stuff from and in the desc I don't understand most of it and the reviews are never reliable there is always ones that say its amazing then ones that say it sucks. I do not mind using a Intel, from what I have seen and been told is that AMD is better for gaming and OC'ing.
     
  4. TheRooTy

    TheRooTy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Got new set up

    Mobo: EVGA 6 slot DDR3 Tri SLI & Crossfire ready
    Case: XClio Windtunell
    Proc: Intel i7 290 2.66GHz
    Heatsink: Zalman 9500A 92mm
    Ram: OCZ Gold 6GB DDR3 Tri- Channel
    GFX: Readon HD 4890 1GB
    Optical: LG Black
    Sound: Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtremegamer
    HD: WD VelociRaptor 300GB 10k RPM
    Seagate 1.5TB 7200rpm
    Power Supply: Antec 750W
     
  5. OniMinion

    OniMinion ...recalls when this forum was actually about cars OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,894
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Indiana/Minnesota
    That Core i7 is about to artificially drop in price today!

    http://forums.offtopic.com/showthread.php?t=4228655
     
  6. bowrofl

    bowrofl New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canadia
    You don't need 8gigs of RAM... even 6 is overkill but if you're getting a Core i7 build you minus whale for the triple channel benefits.

    For sound cards, shop around... actually, go to arstechnica.com andn check out their system guides... every few months, they release builds for budget, medium, and high price points using the best parts of the time. I just built a build for a friend and used a lot of the parts on their budget guide.

    http://arstechnica.com/hardware/guides/2009/04/ars-technica-system-guide-april-2009-edition.ars

    Latest guide is from April but it's still relatively up-to-date... I bet they will make a new guide for summer soon though. Either way, it's a great resource and also offers many alternatives in the product descriptions. Hope it helps.
     
  7. TheRooTy

    TheRooTy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    I switched to 6GB DDR3 Tri-Channel instead of 8 and I am still unsure of getting a i7 unless they have one on newegg thats higher than 2.66GHz
     
  8. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    it's not worth spending the extra $$$ getting the more expensive i7s
    just overclock
    use the money you save on an SSD or better graphics card

    and btw,... AMD was best,.. like 3-4 yrs ago.
    that i7 920 2.66GHz will shit on those Phenom IIs
     
  9. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    which specific EVGA board is that?

    ugly case

    that's i7 920,.. not 290

    i don't think that heatsink will work. you need a heatsink for LGA1336. the retail cpu will come with an intel stock cooler. the cooler sucks but is enough if you don't overclock.

    vid card is fine if you want ATI

    if you can afford it, go with SSDs than the Velociraptor

    ditch the Seagate 1.5TB. either get the 1TB Seagate 7200.12 or WD Caviar Black.

    meh PSU. this corsair unit is better and is $20 cheaper after rebates
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139006
     
  10. OniMinion

    OniMinion ...recalls when this forum was actually about cars OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,894
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Indiana/Minnesota
    Regarding the Core i7 920 OC abilities
    http://forums.offtopic.com/showthread.php?t=4224179
    :naughty:
     
  11. OniMinion

    OniMinion ...recalls when this forum was actually about cars OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,894
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Indiana/Minnesota
    I waiting for the x25-E Intel SSHD to drop in price, it kills the x25-M in benchmarks.
     
  12. Supergeek

    Supergeek New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    CPU performance chart (Flash):
    http://www.cpubenchmark.net/common_cpus.html

    I'd get an i7 920, considering the price/performance ratio. I was just chatting with someone about this yesterday. If you're building a whole new machine, the performance is through the roof on those i7s. RAM is cheap, even DDR3. How much you get depends on what you do -- if you do video editing or graphic design at high resolutions (which I do sometimes) more RAM is better.

    I used to be an AMD fanboy, but the Core 2 Duo line and now the i7 line are keeping me firmly in the Intel camp -- for now.
     
  13. TheRooTy

    TheRooTy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813188046

    I don't care how the case looks I just need good cooling because I will be OCing my proc and possibly my RAM

    I want ATI becuase form what I have read/heard DDR5 is best for video and all of the newer Nvidia's are all DDR3.

    is the "SSD" 10k rpm, I am only going with velociraptor because i want a fast one for main and a big storage for secondary, and wahts the difference betweent he 1.5TB and 1TB


    Edit: @ Supergeek
    I do a lot of video editing as to why I want the 1.5TB HD so I can hold video as long as I need toa nd not worry about filling up. I have 4GB on this computer atm and i still find myself running low with WoW mozilla ventrillo and a media player up.
     
  14. Bencorn

    Bencorn New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ames, IA
    SSD doesn't have an RPM. It is solid state. Like a flash drive. I assume he leans toward the 1TB drive because they have less platters which means they are less likely to fail and they generate less heat. At least that's my logic with me going for 1TB's over 1.5.
     
  15. TheRooTy

    TheRooTy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    well if I'm going to get a 1TB i will buy 2 so I still have a lot.
     
  16. Bencorn

    Bencorn New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ames, IA
    I'm looking at getting eight 1tb green drives at some point to expand my capacity while getting rid of my 10 current drives.
     
  17. TheRooTy

    TheRooTy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    lol 8? why so many.
     
  18. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    i'm sorry, but that case is really ugly. :o
    the Antec 900 probably cools better

    re: graphics ram
    it's like you have two cars:
    AIT's GDDR5 256-bit = 100MPH, two seater
    Nvidia's GDDR3 512-bit = 50MPH, four seater
    which one do you think,... say will bring 20 people from point A to point B?
    in the end,... there's no diff actually

    yeah,.. SSDs don't have rpm
    the 1.5TB Seagates are the 7200.11, which is old and was once plaque with firmware problems
    the 7200.12s are newer, faster, plus what Bencorn said
     
  19. TheRooTy

    TheRooTy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    K I will look into what you said and repost a new set up.
     
  20. Bencorn

    Bencorn New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ames, IA
    In response to why so many, because I basically have a downloading addiction.
     
  21. TheRooTy

    TheRooTy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    lol thas pretty insane, as for a SSD HD I didn't find one on newegg or atleast I couldn't find one I thought I remember seeing one but I looked at all of them.
    question on Antex cooling better, does it have any fans built into the mobo?
     
  22. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    http://www.newegg.com/Store/SubCategory.aspx?SubCategory=636&name=Solid-State-Disks

    the Intel X-25s are the only ones worth getting
    maybe the OCZ vertex as cheap alternatives

    wat?

    the XCLIO Windtunnel comes with 2 x 250mm side fans. you have to buy a 120mm fan for the rear separately

    the Antec 900 comes with 1 x 120mm rear fan, 2 x 120mm front fans, and 1 x 200mm top fan
     
  23. OniMinion

    OniMinion ...recalls when this forum was actually about cars OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,894
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Indiana/Minnesota
    I had an Antec P182 and now I have a P183 and I loved both of those cases! I upgraded all my fans to Scythe 120MM S- Flex (super quite - great airflow).
     
  24. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    .
     
  25. TheRooTy

    TheRooTy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    I looked up SSD and they are way to expensive, I am better off pricewise with a 10k rpm, I saw a few 15k RPM I will look more into those.

    @ deusexaethera that is the old set up I made, check the new one I did.
     

Share This Page